Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

School of Medicine: M1s: Animation, Lectures, & Teaching Podcasts

This guide contains content suitable for study and review for first-year medical students.

How to Use this Animation, Video Lectures, & Podcasts Resource Hub

Find links here to 1) animation, 2) video lectures, and 3) human anatomy tools in AccessMedicine and ClinicalKey and clinical skills video at JoVE Educational Video.

Clinical Skills in AccessMedicine & MyJoVE

Physical Exam videos is a complete collection for the physical exam organized into categories from head to toe, including Cardiology, Dermatology, Emergency, Gastroenterology/Hepatology, General Physical Exam, Gynecology, Neurology, Ophthalmology, Orthopedics, Otolaryngology, Pulmonology, and Urology.

Physical Exam Video (AccessMedicine)

Physical Exam videos is a complete collection for the physical exam organized into categories from head to toe, including Cardiology, Dermatology, Emergency, Gastroenterology/Hepatology, General Physical Exam, Gynecology, Neurology, Ophthalmology, Orthopedics, Otolaryngology, Pulmonology, and Urology.


Physical Examinations (MyJoVE)

Physical Examinations I includes videos on General Approach to the Physical Exam; Observation and Inspection; Palpation; Percussion; Auscultation; Proper Adjustment of Patient Attire During the Physical Exam; Blood Pressure Measurement; Measuring Vital Signs; Respiratory Exam I: Inspection and Palpation; Respiratory Exam II: Percussion and Auscultation; Cardiac Exam 1: Inspection and Palpation; Cardiac Exam II: Auscultation; Cardiac Exam III: Abnormal Heart Sounds; Peripheral Vascular Exam; and Peripheral Vascular Exam Using a Continuous Wave Doppler.

Physical Examinations II includes Eye Exam; Ophthalmoscopic Examination; Ear Exam; Nose, Sinuses, Oral Cavity and Pharynx Exam; Thyroid Exam; Lymph Node Exam; Abdominal Exam I: Inspection and Auscultation; Abdominal Exam II: Percussion; Abdominal Exam III: Palpation; Abdominal Exam IV: Acute Abdominal Pain Assessment; Male Rectal Exam; Comprehensive Breast Exam; Pelvic Exam I: Assessment of the External Genitalia; Pelvic Exam II: Speculum Exam; Pelvic Exam III: Bimanual and Rectovaginal Exam.

Physical Examinations III includes Cranial Nerves Exam (I-IV); Cranial Nerves Exam II: (VII-XII); Motor Exam I; Sensory Exam; Motor Exam II; Neck Exam; Shoulder Exam I; Shoulder Exam II; Elbow Exam; Wrist and Hand Examination; Lower Back Exam; Hip Exam; Knee Exam; Ankle Exam; and Foot Exam.


Emergency Medicine & Critical Care Video

Emergency Medicine and Critical Care includes Basic Life Support: Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Defibrillation; Basic Life Support Part II: Airway/Breathing and Continued Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation; Pericardiocentesis; Lateral Canthotomy and Inferior Cantholysis; Percutaneous Cricothyrotomy; Open Cricothyrotomy; Needle Thoracostomy; Tube Thoracostomy; Intra-articular Shoulder Injection for Reduction Following Shoulder Dislocation; Arterial Line Placement; Intraosseous Needle Placement; Peripheral Venous Cannulation; Central Venous Catheter Insertion: Internal Jugular; Central Venous Catheter Insertion: Femoral Vein; and Central Venous Catheter Insertion: Subclavian Vein.

Animation in AccessMedicine & ClinicalKey

Anatomy Lectures

These interactive modules allow for visualization of the human body in an interactive, 3D format where both Male Complete Anatomy Module and Female Complete Anatomy Module can be viewed. Choose a module and then utilize the options on the left-side of the screen to learn more about human anatomy.


Auscultation Classroom

This feature provides students with the ability to hear an abnormal heart sound, while simultaneously watching a graphic of the intracardiac abnormality that is occurring. The students learn proper auscultation techniques for each murmur. The modules also discuss basics regarding clinical findings associated with the murmurs. This method of learning is designed to help students grasp this difficult concept and solidify their understanding. The target audience includes medical students, NP students, and PA students.


Focused Anatomy Modules

The BioDigital System Modules are live on AccessMedicine. This is a collection of hundreds of interactive, 3-D modules designed to deliver a focused learning experience while also offering a deep-dive into our core foundational textbooks.


Harrison's Pathophysiology Animations

Harrison's Pathophysiology Animations explain complex pathophysiology concepts in new and beautifully animated, easy-to-understand brief videos. Each episode covers a disease mechanism. Running time of each is a student-friendly 4-8 minutes. Nationally regarded educator Scott Stern, MD, from the University of Chicago wrote and narrated each episode, giving our series authenticity often lacking in other medical animations.


Harrison's Quick Lectures

Lectures are ready-to-view or ready-to-assign for a flipped classroom pedagogy, an online course, or as a knowledge refresher. 


Human Anatomy Tours & Quizzes

These focused, 3-D modules guide medical students through systems-based tours of the human anatomy, helping them to learn human anatomy in a systems-based, interactive format. Launching with 7 modules/tours, additional modules/tours will continue to be added to the collection throughout the year.
A number of enhancements have been made to existing modules to make them more dynamic. For example, the Endocrine System tour now demonstrates thyroid hormone release.
Each module features roughly 7-10 slides.


Pharmacology Video (Cardiology Focus)

Pharmacology video lectures include the pharmacology topics of cardiovascular and neurology drugs and basic pharmacotherapeutics concepts.


Regional Anatomy Modules

The BioDigital System Modules are live on AccessMedicine.  This is a collection of hundreds of interactive, 3-D modules designed to deliver a focused learning experience while also offering a deep-dive into our core foundational textbooks.

Lectures in AccessMedicine & ClinicalKey

AccessMedicine Lecture Series

Lecture series include Anatomy, Diagnostic Reasoning, Emergency Medicine, Genetics, Harrison's Quick Lectures, Neurology, Patient Interview, Pharmacology, Physiology, and Telehealth.

Lectures are ready-to-view or ready-to-assign for a flipped classroom pedagogy, an online course, or as a knowledge refresher. Pharmacology lecture videos are also located under “Multimedia,” then “Pharmacology.” These lectures include the pharmacology topics of cardiovascular and neurology drugs and basic pharmacotherapeutics concepts.


View a brief video overview of AccessMedicine by clicking here


Learn more about the content in AccessMedicine by visiting
the
 
vendor's research guides

Podcasts in PsychOnline & AccessMedicine

Finding Our Voice (APA PsychOnline)

Finding Our Voice brings the viewpoints and opinions of the next generation of psychiatrists—including residents, fellows, and early career psychiatrists—to the forefront.


Harrison's Podclass (AccessMedicine)

Illuminating and engaging discussions on key principles of internal medicine, around board-style case vignettes from the acclaimed "Harrison’s Self Assessment and Board Review" title.


Run the List Podcast (AccessMedicine)

The mission of the host team is timely and on point, to provide “a succinct, high-yield resource that covers the initial steps in clinical decision-making and management of common problems for which patients are admitted to the hospital. New episodes posted every two weeks.


S2D: The Symptom to Diagnosis Podcast (AccessMedicine)

A case-based discussion of signs, symptoms and diagnostics tests to improve clinical reasoning and evidence-based practice.


Psychiatric News Brief (APA PsychOnline)

With the American Psychiatric Association’s new flash briefing, Psychiatric News Brief, you can now listen to synopses of curated articles from Psychiatric News.

Meharry Medical College. 1005 Dr. D.B. Todd Blvd. Nashville, TN. 37208