Skip to Main Content
Cases in LWW Health Library
Cases and Concepts Step 1 by Aaron B. Caughey
The books in the Cases and Concepts series feature a comprehensive collection of cases that are designed to introduce one or more basic science topics. Through these cases, students gain an understanding of the coursework as they learn to: Think through the cases; look for classic presentations of most common diseases and syndromes;
Integrate the basic science content with clinical application; prepare for course exams and Step 1 USMLE; and be prepared for clinical rotations.
Publication Date: 2009-02-19
Clinical Anatomy Cases by Sagar Dugani; Jeffrey E. Alfonsi; Anne M. R. Agur; Arthur F. Dalley
Clinical Anatomy Cases uses a highly graphical approach to describe seven anatomical regions. The introductory chapter outlines our integrated approach and provides the fundamentals of the physical examination, medical imaging modalities, and commonly used statistical concepts. The seven anatomical regions continue this integrated approach and lead the reader through several common clinical presentations and diseases. Where relevant, we also include a concise list of differential diagnoses and high-yield clinical pearls.
Publication Date: 2016-06-30
Pathophysiology Review by Aaron B. Caughey
Cases and Concepts is a new series by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins designed to provide students with a textbook to study the basic science topics combined with clinical data. This method of learning is also the way to prepare for the clinical case format of USMLE questions. The books in this series will make the basic science topics not only more interesting but also more meaningful and memorable. Students will be learning not only the why of a principle but also how it might commonly be seen in practice.
Publication Date: 2009-02-05
Physiology Cases and Problems by Linda Costanzo
Includes appendices on calculating compensatory responses to simple acid-base disorders and key equations in physiology, along with chapters on common abbreviations and normal values and constants.
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
LWW Health Library Cases
Accessing the clinical cases in LWW Health Library requires creating a personal account (see directions below).
Clinical cases for study include the following (classified here by subject and type of media):
- 8 'Clinically Oriented Anatomy' case studies (displayed as chapters)
- 10 'Medical Physiology: Principles in Clinical Medicine' case studies (displayed as PDFs)
- 56 'Marks' Basic Medical Biochemistry: A Clinical Approach' patient profiles (displayed as PDFs)
- 142 'Rubin's Pathology: Clinicopathologic Foundations of Medicine' Interactive Case Studies (displayed digitally)
- 24 'Resolving Ethical Dilemmas' cases (displayed as PDFs)
How to Find LWW Cases
Once logged into your personal account in LWW Health Library:
- Click the large "Medical Education" link (top of page)
- Click the large "Cases" button (middle of page)
- Use the menu to narrow selection of cases (lefthand side)
Cases in R2 Digital Library
Achieving Cultural Competency by Lisa Hark (Editor); Horace DeLisser (Editor)
Twenty-five self-study cases cover a variety of medical topics, including cardiovascular, pulmonary, neurology, oncology, hematology, immunology, and pediatric disorders. Actual scenarios that occurred in clinical settings help the user gain direct insight into the realities of practice today.
Publication Date: 2009-04-27
Cases in APA's PsychiatryOnline
DSM-5® Clinical Cases by John W. Barnhill (Editor)
More than 100 authors contributed to DSM-5 Clinical Cases. Most are psychiatrists, but the group also includes professionals from the fields of psychology, social work, nursing, and sociology.
Publication Date: 2013-11-08
Case Files Collection & Cases in eBooks in AccessMedicine
Access the AccessMedicine Case Files Collection by Discipline
AccessMedicine's Case Files Collection contains more disciplines and specialties than are displayed here. Once logged into your MyAccess Account in AccessMedicine, you're ready to access all subscribed Case Files Collection content.1. Click the "Cases" tab in the menu (across the top of the page)
2. Click the "Case Files-Preview" link (first link in cascading menu)
3. Now find the "Case Files Collection" link in the box (top of page)
4. Once clicked, a page will open that enables you to toggle between Case File texts
5. All cases are interactive, with questions throughout, explanations of answers, and clinical pearls
View a brief video overview of AccessMedicine by clicking here
Learn more about the content in AccessMedicine
by visiting the vendor research guides
Case Files Anatomy 3/e by Eugene C. Toy; Lawrence M. Ross; Cristo Papasakelariou; Hang Zhang
New cases include hydrocephalus, knee injury, peritoneal irritation, rotator cuff injury, and thoracic outlet syndrome. We reviewed the clinical scenarios with the intent of improving them; however, their "real-life" presentations patterned after actual clinical experience were accurate and instructive. The multiple-choice questions have been carefully reviewed and rewritten to ensure that they comply with the National Board and United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) format.
Publication Date: 2014-10-09
Case Files Biochemistry 3/e by Eugene C. Toy; William E. Seifert; Henry W. Strobel; Konrad P. Harms
New cases include adenosine deaminase deficiency, maple syrup urine disease, alcoholic ketoacidosis, glucose-6-phosphate dehydrogenase deficiency, medium chain fatty acyl dehydrogenase deficiency, pheochromocytoma, and pediatric methomoglobinemia. We reviewed the clinical scenarios with the intent of improving them; however, their "real-life" presentations patterned after actual clinical experience were accurate and instructive. The multiple-choice questions have been carefully reviewed and rewritten to ensure that they comply with the National Board and USMLE format.
Publication Date: 2014-09-23
Case Files Medical Ethics and Professionalism by Eugene C. Toy; Susan P. Raine; Thomas I. Cochrane
Medical ethics is the practice of systematic analysis of the morals of decision-making in the realm of health care. Professionalism is the practice of putting the interest of the patient above his or her self-interest, and involves accountability, altruism, and pursuit of excellence, as well as a higher calling of duty, integrity, and respect for others. Medical jurisprudence illustrates how medical ethics and legal medicine are intertwined in fields such as medical malpractice, forensic medicine, competency and psychiatric commitment, and withdrawing lifesaving measures.
Publication Date: 2015-03-16
Case Files Neuroscience 2/e by Eugene C. Toy; Josh Neman; Evan Y. Snyder; Rahul Jandial
In this second edition of Case Files®: Neuroscience, the basic format of the book has been retained. Improvements were made in updating many of the chapters including a new case correlation section, in which related cases are referenced to allow the student to review other neurobiological concepts or disease concepts. A new case of subarachnoid hemorrhage has been added. Expanded neuroscience pearls with clinical points highlighting common material covered in the USMLE step 1 have been included. The multiple-choice questions have been carefully reviewed and rewritten to ensure that they comply with the National Board and USMLE format.
Publication Date: 2014-10-03
Case Files Pathology, Second Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Margaret O. Uthman; Edward Uthman; Earl J. Brown
s. The gulf between the basic sciences and the patient arena is wide. Perhaps one way to bridge this gulf is with carefully constructed clinical cases that ask basic science-oriented questions. In an attempt to achieve this goal, we have designed a collection of patient cases to teach pathology-related points. More important, the explanations for these cases emphasize the underlying mechanisms and relate the clinical setting to the basic science data. We explore the principles rather than emphasize rote memorization.
Publication Date: 2008-05-06
Case Files Pharmacology, Third Edition by Eugene C. Toy; David S. Loose; Shelley A. Tischkau; Anush S. Pillai
The gulf between the basic sciences and the patient arena is wide. Perhaps one way to bridge this gulf is with carefully constructed clinical cases that ask basic science-oriented questions. In an attempt to achieve this goal, we have designed a collection of patient cases to teach pharmacology-related points. More importantly, the explanations for these cases emphasize the underlying mechanisms and relate the clinical setting to the basic science data. The principles are explored rather than overemphasizing rote memorization.
Publication Date: 2013-09-04
Cardiology: an Integrated Approach by Adel Elmoselhi
Embedded in almost all chapters are Clinical Correlation boxes which highlight valuable practical applications, and each chapter concludes with clinical Case Study questions resembling those found on licensing examinations, along with their answer keys, annotated with brief explanations.
Publication Date: 2017-12-29
Critical Concept Mastery Series: Acid-Base Disturbance Cases by Zachary Healy
This collection of clinical acid-base cases is meant to sharpen clinical skills in evaluating such disorders. We aim to do so by providing a structure for the evaluation of acute and chronic, primary and secondary acid-base disturbances, as well as approaches to identify the underlying etiologies. This series was conceived to provide cases with a level of complexity that would appeal not only to medical students, but also to residents and fellows, and it will intermittently include questions regarding the most appropriate treatment of patients after identifying the aforementioned acid-base disturbances.
Publication Date: 2021-09-16
Pathophysiology of Disease: an Introduction to Clinical Medicine 8E by Gary D. Hammer; Stephen J. McPhee
The goal of Pathophysiology of Disease: An Introduction to Clinical Medicine, as outlined in the introductory chapter (Chapter 1), is to introduce students to clinical medicine by reviewing the pathophysiologic basis of the symptoms and signs of various common diseases.
The book has proved useful as a text for both Pathophysiology and Introduction to Clinical Medicine courses in medical schools, and it has been popular in similar courses in nursing schools, physician assistants' training programs, and other allied health programs. It is valuable to students early in their medical school years by highlighting the clinical relevance of their basic science courses, and in preparation for their USMLE Step 1 examinations.
Publication Date: 2018-11-26
Workbook and Casebook for Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics by Douglas Rollins; Donald Blumenthal
Each Workbook and Casebook chapter begins with a statement of how it differs from the 12th edition so that the reader can refer to the parent text to obtain additional information if necessary. Workbook and Casebook chapters (except for chapters on general principles) are formatted as follows: Learning Objectives; Drugs Included in the Chapter; Mechanisms of Action (and, where appropriate, Mechanisms of Resistance) Table; Clinical Cases; Key Concepts; Summary Quiz; Summary Table of Drugs that includes Drug Class, Drug Name, Clinical Uses, and Common and Unique Clinically Important Toxicities
Publication Date: 2015-12-29
Cases in ProQuest eBook Central
Meharry Medical College. 1005 Dr. D.B. Todd Blvd. Nashville, TN. 37208