Basic & Clinical Biostatistics, 5th ed.
by
Introduces the medical student, researcher, or practitioner to the study of statistics applied to medicine and other disciplines in the health field. The book covers the basics of biostatistics and quantitative methods in epidemiology and the clinical applications in evidence-based medicine and the decision-making methods. Particular emphasis is on study design and interpretation of results of research.
A Beginner's Guide to Using Open Access Data
by
At the end of each chapter, a tutorial simulates a real example, allowing readers to apply what they learned about accessing open data, and analyzing this data to reach the results. This book can be of use by established researchers analyzing data, publishing, and actively promoting ongoing and research.
Conducting Health Research: Principles, Process, and Methods
by
Presents an integrated and practical introduction to the principles and strategies for planning, implementing, reporting, and assessing health sciences research. Comprehensive in its breadth and depth, with an accessible writing style, this text prepares students in public health and related fields to be adept researchers and consumers of health research.
Doing Computational Social Science: A Practical Introduction
by
Computational approaches offer exciting opportunities for us to do social science differently. This beginner’s guide discusses a range of computational methods and how to use them to study the problems and questions you want to research. It assumes no knowledge of programming, offering step-by-step guidance for coding in Python and drawing on examples of real data analysis to demonstrate how you can apply each approach in any discipline.
Essential Concepts in Clinical Research, 2nd ed.
by
Authors state that their book is not another introductory text in biostatistics, medical statistics, or epidemiology. Their focus is not on statistics but on providing readable, approachable guidance to the elimination of bias in study design. While both validity and precision are important in clinical research, the former takes precedence. Valid studies with some imprecision are preferable to large database studies that are precise yet replete with bias.
Improving Representation in Clinical Trials and Research: Building Research Equity for Women and Underrepresented Groups
by
Currently, large swaths of the U.S. population, and those that often face the greatest health challenges, are less able to benefit from these discoveries because they are not adequately represented in clinical research studies. While progress has been made with representation of white women in clinical trials and clinical research, there has been little progress in the last three decades to increase participation of racial and ethnic minority population groups.
Introduction to Biostatistical Applications in Health Research with Microsoft Office Excel and R
by
Delivers a thorough examination of the basic techniques and most commonly used statistical methods in health research.
Introduction to Health Research Methods: A Practical Guide
by
Designed to empower new investigators to conduct their own original research projects, the third edition of Introduction to Health Research Methods: A Practical Guide leads the reader step-by-step in performing quantitative and qualitative research in medicine, public health, and other clinical and population health fields.
JAMA Guide to Statistics and Methods
by
Organized into major sections: Interventional Studies and Observational Studies. Each of these has 4 subsections. For Interventional Studies these subsections are (1) Trial Strategy and Design, (2) Enrollment, Allocation of Treatment, and Ethics, (3) Measurement of Outcomes, Analyses, and Interpretation of Results, and (4) Application of Results. The subsections for Observational Studies are similar: (1) Study Strategy and Design, (2) Assessment of Risk Factors and Exposures, (3) Measurement of Outcomes, Analyses, and Interpretation of Results, and (4) Application of Results. A third section provides guides for interpreting studies of large surgical data sets to enable clinicians to better understand these types of studies.
Researching Health Together: Engaging Patients and Stakeholders, From Topic Identification to Policy Change
by
Brings together authors who have produced innovative methods or implemented projects focused on different stages of the research process, from question development to evaluation and translation. Editor Emily B. Zimmerman gathers exemplary new methods and projects into one place for the benefit of students designing research projects and proposals, those learning stakeholder-engaged methods, and those involved in implementing and funding stakeholder-engaged projects.
Research Methodology in the Health Sciences: A Quick Reference Guide
by
Intends to introduce research methodology and biostatistics with the minimum use of math and statistical formulas in an attempt to make it user-friendly. It describes the concepts underlying such tests and formulas and their application to critically appraise the medical literature without going into the statistical details of such tests.
Studying a Study and Testing a Test, 7th ed.
by
Provides an update on methods for reading the research including a new chapter on the increasingly important area of Prediction and Decision Rules. Updated and expanded materials include: new modifications of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews, new FDA drug approval options, plus new standards for reporting evidence-based recommendations and cost-effectiveness studies
Survey Methods for Medical and Health Professions Education
by
Authors have written chapters that follow the various chronological steps in setting up, conducting, analyzing, and reporting survey research. They explain in very accessible language every step, using relevant background from the social science literature. At the same time, the book provides practical suggestions so that readers may make informed decisions and intentional choices.
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3rd ed.
by
The third edition of the Users' Guides to the Medical Literature incorporates the lessons authors have learned in more than 20 years of teaching the concepts of evidence-based medicine to students with a wide variety of backgrounds, prior preparation, clinical interest, and geographic location.
The library subscribes to three collections within SAGE Research Methods: The Core Collection, the Foundations Collection, and the Data Visualization Collection of research-related materials.
Discover educational slide sets in the Education Guides that accompany each ebook. A few examples from each ebook found in JAMAevidence include:
Access 12 calculators on the JAMAevidence platform:
These worksheets can help you to synthesize the information you're reading in medical journal articles.
IMPORTANT! When you click the links below, you will be prompted to sign into JAMAevidence with your personal profile--the same profile you may already have created when visiting AccessMedicine.
Haven't registered yet? Create your personal profile in seconds after clicking on one of the links below, being sure to use your Meharry email address and a password of your choosing. These same credentials also will sign you into AccessMedicine, AccessObGyn, and the Case Files Collection.
NOTE: If you visit one of these platforms and are unable to log in, it's likely because you have not visited McGraw-Hill Medical's sites for three or more months. In that case, just register again, making sure to use the Meharry credentials you used in the past.
Discover the difference between an odds ratio and an odds reduction by using this glossary.
JAMAevidence Audio: A monthly series of discussions of core issues in evidence-based medicine by leading practitioners in the field. Recorded and produced by Journal of the American Medical Association editors for JAMAevidence, an innovative online resource for using evidence to improve care.
Once you click on one of the following sections, a linked list of podcasts pops up.
100 Questions (and Answers) about Action Research
by
Identifies and answers the essential questions on the process of systematically approaching your practice from an inquiry-oriented perspective, with a focus on improving that practice. This unique text offers progressive instructors an alternative to the research status quo and serves as a reference for readers to improve their practice as advocates for those they serve.
100 Questions (and Answers) about Research Ethics
by
An essential guide for graduate students and researchers in the social and behavioral sciences, this title identifies ethical issues that individuals must consider when planning research studies as well as provides guidance on how to address ethical issues that might arise during research implementation. Questions such as assessing risks, to protecting privacy and vulnerable populations, obtaining informed consent, using technology including social media, negotiating the IRB process, and handling data ethically are covered.
Basic and Advanced Focus Groups
by
Illustrates both the different types of focus groups and how to decide among those options in order to produce the most effective focus groups possible. A variety of approaches to doing research with focus groups gives readers the tools to develop and examine their research designs, starting with the basics.
Beginning Quantitative Research
by
This concise text provides a clear and digestible introduction to completing quantitative research. Taking you step-by-step through the process of completing your quantitative research project, it offers guidance on: • Formulating your research question • Completing literature reviews and meta-analysis • Formulating a research design and specifying your target population and data source • Choosing an appropriate method and analysing your findings
Behavior Theory in Public Health Practice and Research, 2nd ed.
by
Written by experienced behavioral scientists with substantial experience teaching public health students, Behavior Theory in Public Health Practice and Research, Second Edition offers a comprehensive study of health behavior theories that are the foundation of all health education and promotion programs.
A Companion to Survey Research
by
Provides a critical overview and guide to survey methods. Rather than a set of formulas, survey design is understood as a craft where the translation of research questions into a questionnaire, sample design and data collection strategy is based on understanding how respondents answer questions and their willingness to complete a survey.
Constructing Research Questions: Doing Interesting Research, 2nd ed.
by
While many traditional textbooks on research methods gloss over ways of constructing research questions, in this text, Alvesson and Sandberg have developed a problematization methodology for identifying and challenging the assumptions underlying existing theories and for generating research questions that can lead to more interesting and influential theories.
Doing Ethnographic Research: Activities and Exercises
by
Key Features: * Written in a conversational style that makes it easier for students to grasp concepts and the process of ethnographic research. * Discussion boxes throughout chapters that let the student pause and think constructively. * Marginal definitions on essential key terms. * Featured case studies of previously conducted research which serves as a behind-the-scene interview on how students conduct research, plus first-hand accounts of successes, failures and advice from researchers in the field * Easy-to-understand figures that aim for better student comprehension.
Doing Rapid Qualitative Research
by
The aim of the book is to develop capacity in the design, implementation, dissemination and use of findings generated through rapid qualitative research. The author provides an overview of how these approaches have been used in the past, discuss the challenges of conducting rapid qualitative research through the use of real-world examples presented in the form of case studies and provide practical advice and guidelines for carrying out rapid and rigorous research.
Essentials of Public Health Research Methods
by
Using the circular model of public health research as an overarching framework, Essentials of Public Health Research Methods provides a clear, time-tested methodology that leads students step-by-step through the research process -- from framing the questions, identifying the study design and choosing methodology to collecting and analyzing data, and disseminating research findings.
Internet Research Methods, 2nd ed.
by
Presents a state-of-the-art guide to the internet as a tool for conducting research in the social and behavioural sciences using qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods approaches. New to this edition: • Fully re-written to reflect the emergence of Web 2.0 technologies • Expanded coverage of web surveys for data collection • Unobtrusive methods to harvest data from online archives and documents • New practical tools and resources, where to find them, and how to keep up-to-date with new developments as they emerge
Introduction to Health Research Methods: A Practical Guide
by
Designed to empower new investigators to conduct their own original research projects, the third edition of Introduction to Health Research Methods: A Practical Guide leads the reader step-by-step in performing quantitative and qualitative research in medicine, public health, and other clinical and population health fields.
An Introduction to Research, Analysis, and Writing: Practical Skills for Social Science Students
by
Introduces students to a complete skill set, including planning, design, analysis, argumentation, criticizing theories, building theories, modeling theories, choosing methods, gathering data, presenting evidence, and writing the final product. Students can use this text as a practical resource to navigate through each stage of the process, including choices between more advanced research techniques.
Narrative As Topic and Method in Social Research
by
Narrative research is an increasingly popular qualitative method across the social sciences. This book has two purposes: firstly to show students and researchers how to do research on narrative topics, particularly on questions about narrative productions of meaning, and secondly to explain some fundamentals of research methods suitable for exploring these topics. A final part of the book provides empirical examples of how such research is done. These chapters use small amounts of data to examine the analytic tasks of designing research questions, finding appropriate data, sampling decisions, contextualization, data categorization, and communicating study findings.
Routledge International Handbook of Participatory Approaches in Ageing Research
by
Essential reading for researchers and students interested in the field of ageing and/ or participatory methods, as well as for those policy stakeholders in the fields of ageing and demographic change, social and public policy, or health and wellbeing who are interested in involving older adults in policy processes.
The Science of Health Disparities Research
by
Informs policies and practices addressing the diseases, disorders, and gaps in health outcomes that are more prevalent in minority populations and socially disadvantaged communities. Contributions by recognized scholars and leaders in the field--featuring contemporary research, conceptual models, and a broad range of scientific perspectives--provide an interdisciplinary approach to reducing inequalities in population health, encouraging community engagement in the research process, and promoting social justice. In-depth chapters help readers better understand the specifics of minority health and health disparities while demonstrating the importance of advancing theory, refining measurement, improving investigative methods, and diversifying scientific research.
Secondary Data in Mixed Methods Research
by
This is the first text to focus on the use of secondary, or existing, data in mixed methods research. Comprehensive text covers how to find and evaluate sources of secondary data through research design and writing and reporting.
