Find links here to content in the School of Medicine's Introduction to Medicine course curriculum.
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination, 11th Edition by
Includes an appendix that includes case answers and clinical pearls
Macleod's Clinical Examination by
Many of the examination sequences are included as photo galleries, illustrating with captions the key stages of the examination routine. Videos include examination of the cardiovascular system, examination of the respiratory system, examination of the gastrointestinal system, examination of the neurological system, examination of the ear, examination of the thyroid gland, and examination of the musculoskeletal system.
The Pre-Clerkship Guide by
For medical students, the shift from classroom to clinical rotations represents a major educational transition full of rich, new learning opportunities and challenges. Perfect for a fresh white coat pocket, this book serves as a practical resource to help you efficiently learn many of the foundational clinical skills necessary for everyday patient care.
Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination by
A chapter at the end includes lists of special features, which include sections on Clinical Pearls, Differential Diagnosis, Evidence-Based Practice in Clinical Examination, Functional Assessment, Patient Safety, Physical Examination Components, and Risk Factors.
Symptom to Diagnosis an Evidence Based Guide, Fourth Edition by
Includes a link to high-yield Diagnostic Reasoning Lectures
Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations by
Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations © is intended to bring a fresh approach to musculoskeletal examination instruction through the combined use of printed text (what you have before you), web-delivered self study programs (to parallel written material) with video instruction, graphics, animations and hotlinks to illustrative examples of key abnormalities plus additional web-delivered skill-building workshops (for supervised or independent hands-on practice).
Textbook of Physical Diagnosis by
Includes 137 videos and chapters at the end which include Commonly Abused Drugs, Signs and Symptoms of Deficiency States, Conversion Tables, English-to-Spanish Translations Useful in the Medical Setting, and CDC Recommended Immunization Schedule
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2022 by
The book emphasizes the practical features of clinical diagnosis and patient management in all fields of internal medicine and in specialties of interest to primary care practitioners and to subspecialists who provide general care.
The Patient History: Evidence-Based Approach by
The book's introductory chapters cover general principles of history taking and the evidence-based method. The remaining symptom-based chapters tackle 59 common clinical symptoms, including the following elements: clinical case scenario, background and key terminology, differential diagnosis, interview framework and tips, alarm symptoms (features that alert the clinician to the most serious diagnoses), focused questions (with respective likelihood ratios), prognosis, caveats or clinical pearls, and references.
Pocketbook of Differential Diagnosis by
This book has been written in three sections: Clinical Presentations, Biochemical Presentations and Haematological Presentations. Medicine has moved at a considerable pace from traditional lectures, self-directed problem-based learning, to small group work and seminars, and having a book which offers a quick didactic approach offers merits.
Communication the Cleveland Clinic Way: How to Drive a Relationship-Centered Strategy for Exceptional Patient Experience by
In this book, authors challenge doctors to develop skills that would help them establish more effective, functional, and satisfying relationships with patients, relationships in which both the patient’s and the clinician’s experience mattered. "We believe that relationships are therapeutic and that relationships function best when all parties to the relationship matter."
Empathy: Real Stories to Inspire and Enlighten Busy Clinicians by
The stories in this collection depict many common challenges, such as when patients and families harbor unrealistic prognostic expectations and are therefore considered to be “in denial” or when patients display nonmedical opiate use. However, not all chapters focus on challenging scenarios. Instead, some chapters focus primarily on how clinicians connect with patients by weaving empathy into the fabric of every encounter, not just difficult ones.
Smith's Patient Centered Interviewing: an Evidence-Based Method, Fourth Edition by
Our goal in this text is to present in a logical, step-by-step fashion the behaviors that are necessary to conduct an effective and efficient patient-centered interview. Interviewing is the most important and most difficult skill learners must master in their clinical careers. The book is designed for learners in medicine, advanced-practice nursing, physician assistant, and other health-related disciplines where communication and relational skills are central. Includes links to a companion teaching supplement and teaching videos.
Understanding Clinical Negotiation by
This book is about identifying, understanding, and responding to patients’ wants, needs, desires and expectations in ways that leads to better outcomes for patients and more satisfying health care relationships for everyone. The primary purpose is to equip front-line generalist medical practitioners—primary care physicians, hospitalists, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, or those training for these roles—to recognize the contours of clinical negotiation and how to reach a satisfactory resolution as quickly and efficiently as possible.
Clinical Ethics: a Practical Approach to Ethical Decisions in Clinical Medicine, Ninth Edition by
In order to practice excellent clinical care in modern medicine, clinicians must understand ethical issues such as informed consent, decisional capacity, surrogate decision-making, truth telling, confidentiality, privacy, the distinction between research and clinical care, and end-of-life care.
Developing Reflective Practice by
Provides practical how-to information for students, practitioners and educators, including realistic case examples and practice-based hints and tips Examines and explains the theoretical and conceptual approaches to reflective practice, including its models and frameworks.
Emergency Medicine Decision Making: Critical Issues in Chaotic Environments by
This concise, readable primer on the basic concepts of evidence-based medicine incorporates techniques on evaluating and searching the Emergency Medicine literature, applying those skills to clinical practice, and using those skills to prepare successfully for the new, annual Continuous Certification exams.
Deconstructing the OSCE by
Deconstructing the OSCE takes a fresh approach to passing OSCE exams, teaching readers how to tackle the exam in a new way. This book doesn't provide checklists of information needed for specific OSCE stations; instead it helps readers to develop generic strategies and skills that will lead to success in any OSCE exam regardless of specialty or level.
How to Succeed at Medical School by
Written by experienced medical school teachers and packed full of case studies, illustrations, quotes from other students, tip boxes, exercises, portfolios and learning techniques to help you communicate, study and revise - it's an essential resource to help you thrive at medical school.
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy by
First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, The Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers. As the Manual evolved, it continually expanded the reach and depth of its offerings to reflect the mission of providing the best medical information of the day to a wide cross-section of users, including medical professionals and students, veterinarians and veterinary students, and consumers.
Emery's Elements of Medical Genetics and Genomics by
Chapters near the end of the book contain all clinical case files and case answers.
Medical Genetics by
Clinical Commentary boxes present detailed coverage of the most important genetic diseases and provide examples of modern clinical management.
▪ Mini-summaries highlighted in gold are placed on nearly every page to help the reader understand and summarize important concepts.
▪ Study questions provided at the end of each chapter assist the reader in review and comprehension.
Thompson and Thompson Genetics in Medicine by
Provides students with a framework for understanding the field of medical genetics and genomics while giving them a basis on which to establish a program of continuing education in this area.
Gray's Anatomy for Students by
Review materials/study aids are available on Student Consult as an online resource with the appropriate review materials for each chapter listed at the beginning of that chapter. This information includes an online anatomy and embryology self-study course, medical clinical cases, physical therapy clinical cases, self-assessment questions, an interactive surface anatomy module, and short answer questions.
Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy by
Clinically Oriented Anatomy has been widely acclaimed for the relevance of its clinical correlations. As in previous editions, the ninth edition places clinical emphasis on anatomy that is important in physical diagnosis for primary care, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. Special attention has been directed toward assisting students in learning the anatomy they will need to know in the 21st century, and to this end, new features have been added and existing features updated.
Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: Classic Regional Approach (hardcover) by
Includes chapters for Plate Pearls and Study Guides
Nolte's the Human Brain in Photographs and Diagrams by
Authors have attempted to make the task a little easier by presenting a systematic series of whole-brain sections in three different sets of planes (coronal, sagittal, and axial—similar to what is seen in medical imaging), by relating these sections to three-dimensional reconstructions, and by trying to restrain ourselves when indicating structures.
Sobotta Tables of Muscles, Joints and Nerves, English/Latin by 
Arrhythmia Essentials by
This book is easily portable and is of great value for the busy clinician called upon to treat these patients, as well as students and nurses interested in learning more about this rapidly expanding area in medicine. It should also prove of great value to seasoned clinicians eager to gain an authoritative review of the management and treatment of patients with cardiac rhythm disorders.
Braunwald's Heart Disease, 2 Vol Set by
The 12th edition of Braunwald’s Heart Disease provides a comprehensive, carefully curated, balanced, and unbiased distillation not only of the tried and true, but especially the latest advances in our field. This volume should serve the novice and experienced practitioner alike. Trainees and those preparing for certification or recertification examinations can use this text for an overall review of contemporary cardiovascular medicine.
Cardiovascular Physiology, Ninth Edition by
In this our final edition as primary authors of this text, we have continued our penchant of focusing on the big picture of how and why the cardiovascular system operates as it does. Our firm belief is that to evaluate the importance and consequences of specific details it is essential to appreciate where they fit in the big picture. The core idea is for students not to get lost in the forest for the trees.
Diastology by
This textbook comprehensively discusses the basic molecular and hemodynamic assessment principles, epidemiology, clinical presentation, diagnostic approaches, and treatment of the different cardiovascular diseases that lead to HFpEF.
Fuster and Hurst's the Heart, 15th Edition by
There is a clinical focus throughout the entire 15th edition, with most chapters including sections specifically devoted to commonly encountered scenarios or dilemmas in clinical practice. Content from chapters that had previously been devoted exclusively to imaging or procedural techniques has been assimilated throughout the text to more closely align with corresponding clinical content.
The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Cardiovascular System by 
Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, Second Edition by
Chapter 8: Diagnostic Reasoning and Decision Making includes content about illness scripts and examples of illness scripts.
Dale's Pharmacology Condensed by
The authors' aim is to pinpoint the essential aspects of pharmacology in a precise manner so that the reader has the confidence to recall or research more detailed material. This approach might be useful for anyone preparing for examinations, or for scientists in need of reprisal of distant and forgotten topics.
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13th Edition by
This book's purpose is to correlate pharmacology with related medical sciences, to reinterpret the actions and uses of drugs in light of advances in medicine and the basic biomedical sciences, to emphasize the applications of pharmacodynamics to therapeutics, and to create a book that would be useful to students of pharmacology and to physicians. We continue to follow these principles in the 13th edition.
Netter's Illustrated Pharmacology Updated Edition by 
Principles of Pharmacology by
Included are comprehensive updates and additions in the fundamentals of pharmacology. Along with extensive updates in the chapters on drug–receptor interactions, pharmacodynamics, pharmacokinetics, drug metabolism, drug toxicity, and pharmacogenomics, a new chapter on drug transporters has been added. The first section of the textbook now provides a comprehensive framework for the fundamental principles of pharmacology that serve as the foundation for material in all subsequent chapters.
Rang and Dale's Pharmacology by
In this edition, as in its predecessors, the authors set out to explain what drugs do in terms of the mechanisms by which they act. This entails analysis not only at the cellular and molecular level, where knowledge and techniques are advancing rapidly, but also at the level of physiological mechanisms and pathological disturbances.
Public Health What It Is and How It Works by
The book covers the origins and development of the modern public health system; the relationship of public health to the overall health system; how the system is organized at the federal, state, and local levels; its core functions and how well these are currently being addressed; evidence-based practice and an approach to program planning and evaluation for public health interventions; public health activities such as epidemiological investigation, biomedical research, environmental assessment, policy development, and more.
Pathology: the Big Picture by
Includes a link to board-style, multiple-choice review questions.
Robbins and Cotran Atlas of Pathology, 4th ed. by
The atlas reflects the knowledge base of the Robbins series primarily in a visual format, greatly benefiting visual learners
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th ed. by
Includes clinical cases
Robbins Basic Pathology, 10th ed. (2018) by
Available on studentconsult.com: 14 Targeted Therapy Boxes, 30 videos, more than 100 clinical cases, and interactive multiple-choice questions linked to chapters; contact the library for more information
Rubin's Pathology by
This is a textbook of Pathology. As physicians, our adversary is disease. In order to help developing physicians, we hope to nourish their understanding of what they are up against, believing that professional strength and effectiveness reside in that understanding. We focus here, as the subtitle indicates, on mechanisms of human disease. Our goal is to help future internists, pediatricians, surgeons, and others prepare for their specialties by acquainting them with their opponents and how they behave: how diseases develop and how they affect patients.
Immunology by
Includes end of chapter summaries and review questions, a companion website at www.wileyimmunology.com/coico featuring interactive flashcards, USMLE-style interactive MCQs, figures as PowerPoint slides, and case-based material to help understand clinical applications.
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Immunology by
This third edition of Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews: Immunology describes updated information, with the goal of providing facts necessary for understanding the basic role of the immune system in human health and in many diseases. This is done with the hope that it will help the reader understand immunology and have the foundation to comprehend topics that are more complex over the course of their studies and possible careers in scientific or health care fields.
Mucosal Immunology by
his book contains new research data, exceptional illustrations, original theory, a new perspective, and excellent organization. It covers immune system topics, such as inductive and effector tissues and cells, and development and physiology of the mucosal barrier; diseases in the digestive system, respiratory tract, and genitourinary tract; and immunodeficiency.
Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology, Seventeenth Edition by
This book is a concise review of the medically important aspects of microbiology and immunology. It covers both the basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology. It also discusses important infectious diseases, using an organ system approach.
Before We Are Born by
Includes a chapter at the end with questions to clinically oriented questions and 18 videos.
The Developing Human by
Includes a chapter at the end with discussion of clinically oriented problems and 18 videos
Langman's Medical Embryology by
Includes a chapter at the end with answers to questions in each chapter.
Netter's Atlas of Human Embryology by
A chapter at the end includes a summary of common congenital anomalies throughout the body and their embryonic causes.
Clinical Neuroanatomy, Twentyninth Edition by
This new 29th edition provides an accessible, easy-to-remember synopsis of neuroanatomy and its functional and clinical implications. A Box summarizes the most essential take-away lessons from each chapter. Since many of us learn and remember better when material is presented visually, this book is liberally illustrated not only with clinical material such as brain scans and pathological specimens but also with hundreds of diagrams and tables that are designed to be clear and memorable.
Essential Neuroscience by
To present the material in an integrated fashion, Clinical Considerations are included as are discussions of the physiological aspects. At the end of each chapter, a Chapter Summary Table is provided that highlights the most important facts and concepts of the chapter and allows for review of the material in a simple, efficient manner. A Clinical Case is also presented, which is followed by a Chapter Test consisting of questions that can also be used effectively for United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) preparation.
Neuroanatomy Text and Atlas, Fifth Edition by
An important goal of Neuroanatomy: Text and Atlas is to prepare the reader for interpreting the new wealth of human brain images—structural, functional, and connectivity—by developing an understanding of the anatomical localization of brain functions. To provide a workable focus, this book is largely restricted to the central nervous system. It takes a traditional approach to gaining neuroanatomical competence: Because the basic imaging picture is a two-dimensional slice through the brain (e.g., CT or MRI scan), the locations of structures and consideration of their functions are examined on two-dimensional myelin-stained sections through the human central nervous system.
The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Nervous System, Volume 7, Part I - Brain by 
The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Nervous System, Volume 7, Part II - Spinal Cord and Peripheral Motor and Sensory Systems by 
The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Musculoskeletal System, Volume 6, Part I - Upper Limb by
Though the science and teaching of medicine endures changes in terminology, practice, and discovery, some things remain the same. A patient is a patient. A teacher is a teacher. And the pictures of Dr. Netter—he called them pictures, never paintings—remain the same blend of beautiful and instructional resources that have guided physicians' hands and nurtured their imaginations for more than half a century.
The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Musculoskeletal System, Volume 6, Part II - Spine and Lower Limb by
Though the science and teaching of medicine endures changes in terminology, practice, and discovery, some things remain the same. A patient is a patient. A teacher is a teacher. And the pictures of Dr. Netter—he called them pictures, never paintings—remain the same blend of beautiful and instructional resources that have guided physicians' hands and nurtured their imaginations for more than half a century.
The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Musculoskeletal System, Volume 6, Part III - Biology and Systemic Diseases by
Though the science and teaching of medicine endures changes in terminology, practice, and discovery, some things remain the same. A patient is a patient. A teacher is a teacher. And the pictures of Dr. Netter—he called them pictures, never paintings—remain the same blend of beautiful and instructional resources that have guided physicians' hands and nurtured their imaginations for more than half a century.
Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry Thirty-First Edition by
Sections I and II involve enzymology, and the book includes a link to board-style, multiple-choice review questions.
Marks' Basic Medical Biochemistry by
The accompanying website for this edition of Marks’ Basic Medical Biochemistry: A Clinical Approach contains the aforementioned additional multiple-choice questions for review, a table listing patient names for the fifth edition and how they correspond to those of the fourth edition, and summaries of all patients described in the text (patient cases).
