Evidence-based medicine (EBM) integrates the best available evidence with clinical experience that allows clinicians to recommend, and their patients to make, informed choices consistent with their values. JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.
This platform provides worksheets on the following:
Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience by
In this book, you will find chapters not only on cancer but also on Alzheimer disease, heart failure, liver failure, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, HIV/AIDS, and the frailty of old age—many are common conditions and all have common concerns
JAMA Guide to Statistics and Methods by
Research methods are described in plain English without reliance on equations and without any assumption that the reader understands the field of statistics.
The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical Diagnosis by
Starts with clinical diagnostic questions and provides data that identify the most relevant symptoms and signs
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: a Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3rd ed. by
Provides the clinician access to what is relevant and the ability to assess its validity and whether it applies to a specific patient.
Collaborative Approaches to Evaluation by
Using a multi-phase empirical process to develop and validate a set of principles to guide collaborative approaches to evaluation, the book outlines the principles that the team developed, and then provides case studies of how these principles have been applied in practice. The case studies draw on programs globally in education, health, and community development. The book is an invaluable supplementary text for program evaluation courses where students’ projects are focused on more collaborative and participatory approaches, and it is an essential resource for practicing evaluators and those who commission program evaluations.
Essential Concepts in Clinical Research by
We designed this book for two audiences—busy clinicians and active clinical researchers.
Providing digestible chapters for clinicians to read the medical literature more critically was a major goal. Clinical practice should be inspired by compassion and guided by science. Regrettably, despite long years of academic training, many clinicians report that they struggle to read medical science critically. We hope this book will provide helpful tools to critique articles and derive satisfaction, indeed fun, from clinical science. Importantly, more critical and thoughtful consumers of research make better clinicians.
Participatory Research by
Gives students a thorough grounding in the history and theoretical issues surrounding each method • Showcases participatory research in action through extensive on-the-ground case studies • Highlights the importance of ethics in research design, offering guidance on dealing with sensitive considerations in participatory research With a sustained focus on the impact of digital technologies, this book tackles head-on the need to re-assess the way we involve people in contemporary research. It is an essential guide to better research practice for students and researchers across the social sciences.
Qualitative Research in the Health Sciences by
There is a growing interest in, and acceptance of, qualitative research approaches in the health science disciplines, both as standalone methodologies and integrated with quantitative designs in mixed methods approaches. This comprehensive text provides deeper knowledge and application of a wide range of methodologies, methods and processes, enabling readers to develop their qualitative research skills.
Spirituality and Health Research by
This unique source of information on how to conduct research on religion, spirituality, and health includes practical information that goes well beyond what is typically taught in most undergraduate, graduate, or even post-doctoral level courses. This volume reviews what research has been done, discusses the strengths and limitations of that research, provides a research agenda for the future that describes the most important studies that need to be done to advance the field, and describes how to actually conduct that research (design, statistical analysis, and publication of results).
Studying a Study and Testing a Test by
Reading the medical literature and evidence-based medicine are being integrated into all three steps of the U.S.M.L.E. of the National Board of Medical Examiners. The seventh edition covers all the U.S.M.L.E. tested content for “Interpretation of the Medical Literature.” A wide range of health professions now recognize the importance of evidence-based practice and are incorporating reading the research literature into their curriculum, their accreditation examinations, and their Journal Clubs.
Using and Interpreting Statistics in the Social, Behavioral, and Health Sciences by
Focuses on the meaning of statistics and why researchers choose particular techniques, rather than computational skills. Coverage ranges from basic descriptive statistics to more advanced topics such as tests of significance, measures of association, and regression analysis. An opening chapter provides a brief overview of the research process in social, behavioral, and health sciences.
Introduction to Health Research Methods by
Designed to empower new investigators to conduct their own original research projects, the third edition of Introduction to Health Research Methods: A Practical Guide leads the reader step-by-step in performing quantitative and qualitative research in medicine, public health, and other clinical and population health fields.
Mixed Methods Research by
he personal, interpersonal, and social contexts of mixed methods research are discussed more explicitly than in other mixed methods books. Chapters 2 – 10 include specific advice for applying the field of mixed methods research to the reader's own research practices. Issues and Debates sections identify the current debates in the field of mixed methods research about each topic. Application questions prompt readers to apply chapter content to their own mixed methods research practice and encourage them to grapple with the complexities of the field. In-chapter learning aids, including Learning Objectives, Chapter Key Concepts, and Key Resources, help readers master key concepts and ideas.
Qualitative Comparative Analysis in Mixed Methods Research and Evaluation by
Use of a concrete example that is woven across multiple chapters provides a thread of continuity that allows readers to follow the step-by-step process for understanding the method. A guiding heuristic helps orient the reader at the beginning of each chapter to understand where they are in the process of conducting an analysis. Analytic checklists easily summarize the analytic process described in the chapter and serve as a reference. Practice exercises provide essential practice and reinforce key concepts. Helpful summaries and key points succinctly summarize main points of each chapter.
Qualitative Data Collection Tools by
Covers an often-omitted subject in general qualitative textbook Benefits from the extensive qualitative research experience of its author Provides starting point templates for readers conducting original qualitative research Offers readers suggestions for using and adapting the qualitative instrument templates Ties each template back to methods and methodology to ensure trustworthiness and rigor Provides templates of interview protocols, focus group moderator guides, content analysis tools, document analysis tools, reflective questionnaires, diary and journal logs, and observational rubrics Gives the reader either a cut-and-paste solution for their own research or a starting point to design their own personalized qualitative tools.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods presents current and complete information as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style. In taking an interdisciplinary approach, these two volumes target a broad audience and fill a gap in the existing reference literature for a general guide to the core concepts that inform qualitative research practices. The entries cover every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, the role of theory in qualitative research, and much more—all without overwhelming the informed reader.
SAGE Internet Research Methods by
Historically, social researchers have shown a willingness to exploit new technologies to enhance, facilitate, and support their various activities. However, arguably no other technological development has influenced the landscape of social research as rapidly and fundamentally as the Internet. This collection avoids both uncritical embrace and wholesale dismissal by considering some of the key literature in the field of Internet research methods.
SAGE Mixed Methods Research by
For more than 50 years, SAGE has been one of the leading international publishers of works on research methods in the social sciences. This new collection, with six volumes organized by themes, provides readers with a representative sample of the best articles in mixed-methods research that have appeared in SAGE journals.
SAGE Qualitative Research Methods by
This collection includes research from the past four decades and addresses key issues or controversies, such as explanations and defences of qualitative methods; ethics; research questions and foreshadowed problems; access; first days in the field; field roles and rapport; practicalities of data collection and recording; data analysis; writing and (re) presentation; the rise of auto-ethnography; life history, narrative and autobiography; CA and DA; and alternatives to the logocentric (such as visual methods).
SAGE Quantitative Research Methods by
This collection provides readers with a representative sample of the best articles in quantitative methods that have appeared in SAGE journals as chosen by W. Paul Vogt, editor of other successful major reference collections such as Selecting Research Methods (2008) and Data Collection (2010). The volumes and articles are organized by theme rather than by discipline. Although there are some discipline-specific methods, most often quantitative research methods cut across disciplinary boundaries.
Completing Your Evaluation Dissertation, Thesis, or Culminating Project by
This practical, user-friendly resource helps students successfully complete an evaluation capstone: a dissertation, thesis, or culminating project where a student conducts an evaluation as their capstone experience. Authors Tamara M. Walser and Michael S. Trevisan present a framework to support students and faculty in maximizing student development of evaluator competencies, addressing standards of the evaluation profession, and contributing to programs and disciplinary knowledge.
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care by
This bestselling book is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review in health and social care. It is vital reading for all those undertaking their undergraduate or postgraduate dissertation or any research module which involves a literature review.
A Guide to the Scientific Career: Virtues, Communication, Research, and Academic Writing by
A concise, easy-to-read source of essential tips and skills for writing research papers and career management
Qualitative Dissertation Methodology by
Designing and writing a qualitative dissertation methodology chapter can be done! Qualitative Dissertation Methodology: A Guide for Research Design and Methods functions as a dissertation advisor to help students construct and write a qualitative methodological framework for their research. Drawing from the challenges author Nathan Durdella has experienced while supervising students, the book breaks down producing the dissertation chapter into smaller pieces and goes through each portion of the methodology process step by step. With a warm and supportive tone, he walks students through the process from the very start, from choosing chairs and developing qualitative support networks to outlining the qualitative chapter and delving into the writing. By the end of the book, students will have completed the most challenging chapter of a qualitative dissertation and laid a strong foundation for the rest of their dissertation work.
Writing up Qualitative Research by
Offers time-tested suggestions on every aspect of the process from beginning to end. Author Harry Wolcott continues to focus on the “writing side” of qualitative research, while incorporating new features such as guidelines on how and where to use theory.
This tool is designed to guide you through your research project, one step at a time. First, think about what stage in your research you're in and then dive into the different "chapters" in the side menu. If not, get started by clicking the "Begin Your Research: Why We Do Research" button.
Visit Project Planner - SAGE Research Methods (sagepub.com) to get started.
Each section of the SAGE Project Planner includes several individual modules, some of which provide video. Here are the planning stages included in this content:
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any
scholarly publisher.
A great way to kick-start your research journey is to look at the list of Foundation Entries. These give introductory overviews to major research methods, covering their history, development and critical debates surrounding them. Choose the Foundation Entry most relevant to the method you want to learn about and you will be directed to what read next.
SAGE Digital Visualization With the SAGE Research Methods Data Visualizations database, users can discover different types of charts, practice creating digital visualizations with real data, watch experts create and explain their visualizations, and read tips and tricks from experts.
Search all journals in the OneSearch tab on the Digital Library
