100 Questions (and Answers) about Action Research by
100 Questions (and Answers) About Action Research identifies and answers the essential questions on the process of systematically approaching your practice from an inquiry-oriented perspective, with a focus on improving that practice. This unique text offers progressive instructors an alternative to the research status quo and serves as a reference for readers to improve their practice as advocates for those they serve. The Question and Answer format makes this an ideal supplementary text for traditional research methods courses, and also a helpful guide for practitioners in education, social work, criminal justice, health, business, and other applied disciplines.
Beginning Quantitative Research by
This concise text provides a clear and digestible introduction to completing quantitative research. Taking you step-by-step through the process of completing your quantitative research project, it offers guidance on:
•Formulating your research question
•Completing literature reviews and meta-analysis
•Formulating a research design and specifying your target population and data source
•Choosing an appropriate method and analyzing your findings
Clinical and Translational Science: Principles of Human Research, 2nd ed. by 
Constructing Research Questions: Doing Interesting Research, 2nd ed. by
The authors have developed a problematization methodology for identifying and challenging the assumptions underlying existing theories and for generating research questions that can lead to more interesting and influential theories
Creating Practice-Based Evidence, 2nd ed. by
This book bridges the gap between clinical practice and active research. By guiding and encouraging clinicians to use their everyday practice as a platform for gathering evidence, it aims to help clinicians to cultivate and develop research thinking and to make research more inclusive
Essential Concepts in Clinical Research, 2nd ed. by
We designed this book for two audiences—busy clinicians and active clinical researchers.
Providing digestible chapters for clinicians to read the medical literature more critically was a major goal. Clinical practice should be inspired by compassion and guided by science. Regrettably, despite long years of academic training, many clinicians report that they struggle to read medical science critically. We hope this book will provide helpful tools to critique articles and derive satisfaction, indeed fun, from clinical science. Importantly, more critical and thoughtful consumers of research make better clinicians.
Gordis Epidemiology, 7th ed. by
The authors have organized the presentation of epidemiologic methods along a study continuum from clinical observation to case-series to the use of ecologic studies and then to cross-sectional investigations as the foundational approach to epidemiologic hypothesis development. They then follow with case-control and cohort designs, leading up to the randomized trial
How to Do Your Research Project: A Guide for Students in Medicine and the Health Sciences by
Includes information on how to promote the results of your research project
Interpreting Statistical Findings: A Guide for Health Professionals and Students by
This book is aimed at those studying and working in the field of health care, including nurses and the professions allied to medicine, who have little prior knowledge of statistics but for whom critical review of research is an essential skill
Introduction to Health Research Methods: A Practical Guide, 3rd ed. by
Designed to empower new investigators to conduct their own original research projects, the third edition of Introduction to Health Research Methods: A Practical Guide leads the reader step-by-step in performing quantitative and qualitative research in medicine, public health, and other clinical and population health fields.
Participatory Research: Why and How to Involve People in Research by
Gives students a thorough grounding in the history and theoretical issues surrounding each method • Showcases participatory research in action through extensive on-the-ground case studies • Highlights the importance of ethics in research design, offering guidance on dealing with sensitive considerations in participatory research With a sustained focus on the impact of digital technologies, this book tackles head-on the need to re-assess the way we involve people in contemporary research. It is an essential guide to better research practice for students and researchers across the social sciences.
Qualitative Research in Health Care, 4th ed. by
Qualitative Research in Health Care, 4th ed., looks at the interface between qualitative and quantitative research in primary mixed method studies, case study research, and secondary analysis and evidence synthesis. The book further offers chapters covering: different research designs, ethical issues in qualitative research; interview, focus group and observational methods; and documentary and conversation analysis
Studying a Study and Testing a Test, 7th ed. by
Reading the medical literature and evidence-based medicine are being integrated into all three steps of the U.S.M.L.E. of the National Board of Medical Examiners. The seventh edition covers all the U.S.M.L.E. tested content for “Interpretation of the Medical Literature.” A wide range of health professions now recognize the importance of evidence-based practice and are incorporating reading the research literature into their curriculum, their accreditation examinations, and their Journal Clubs.
Understanding Clinical Research by
Understanding Clinical Research aims to bridge the gap between “cookbooks” and “textbooks” on clinical research—to strike a balance between providing practical information for application as well as broader perspectives that support advancing the field through scholarship
Using and Interpreting Statistics in the Social, Behavioral, and Health Sciences by
Focuses on the meaning of statistics and why researchers choose particular techniques, rather than computational skills. Coverage ranges from basic descriptive statistics to more advanced topics such as tests of significance, measures of association, and regression analysis. An opening chapter provides a brief overview of the research process in social, behavioral, and health sciences.
A Companion to Survey Research by
This book is written for researchers, analysts and policy makers who want to understand the survey data they use, for researchers and students who want to conduct a survey, and for anyone who wants to understand contemporary survey research.
Data Monitoring Committees in Clinical Trials: A Practical Perspective, 2nd ed. by
Data Monitoring Committees in Clinical Trials: A Practical Perspective, 2nd Edition is a must-have text for anyone engaged in DMC activities as well as trial sponsors, clinical trial researchers, regulatory and bioethics professionals, and those associated with clinical trials in academic, government and industry settings
Mixed Methods in Health Sciences Research: A Practical Primer by
Packed with illustrations from the health sciences literature, this ready-to-use guidebook shows readers how to design, conduct, review, and use mixed methods research findings. Helpful checklists, figures, tables, templates, and much more give readers examples that will elevate the quality of their research, facilitate communication about their methods, and improve efficiency over the course of their projects
Mixed Methods Research: A Guide to the Field by
he personal, interpersonal, and social contexts of mixed methods research are discussed more explicitly than in other mixed methods books. Chapters 2 – 10 include specific advice for applying the field of mixed methods research to the reader's own research practices. Issues and Debates sections identify the current debates in the field of mixed methods research about each topic. Application questions prompt readers to apply chapter content to their own mixed methods research practice and encourage them to grapple with the complexities of the field. In-chapter learning aids, including Learning Objectives, Chapter Key Concepts, and Key Resources, help readers master key concepts and ideas.
Qualitative Comparative Analysis in Mixed Methods Research and Evaluation by
Use of a concrete example that is woven across multiple chapters provides a thread of continuity that allows readers to follow the step-by-step process for understanding the method. A guiding heuristic helps orient the reader at the beginning of each chapter to understand where they are in the process of conducting an analysis. Analytic checklists easily summarize the analytic process described in the chapter and serve as a reference. Practice exercises provide essential practice and reinforce key concepts. Helpful summaries and key points succinctly summarize main points of each chapter.
Qualitative Data Collection Tools by
Covers an often-omitted subject in general qualitative textbook Benefits from the extensive qualitative research experience of its author Provides starting point templates for readers conducting original qualitative research Offers readers suggestions for using and adapting the qualitative instrument templates Ties each template back to methods and methodology to ensure trustworthiness and rigor Provides templates of interview protocols, focus group moderator guides, content analysis tools, document analysis tools, reflective questionnaires, diary and journal logs, and observational rubrics Gives the reader either a cut-and-paste solution for their own research or a starting point to design their own personalized qualitative tools.
Qualitative Dissertation Methodology: A Guide for Research Design and Methods by
Qualitative Dissertation Methodology: A Guide for Research Design and Methods functions as a dissertation advisor to help students construct and write a qualitative methodological framework for their research. Drawing from the challenges author Nathan Durdella has experienced while supervising students, the book breaks down producing the dissertation chapter into smaller pieces and goes through each portion of the methodology process step by step.
Research Design and Analysis: A Primer for the Non-Statistician by
Requiring no background in statistics, this book reviews the purpose, ethics, and rules of research, explains the fundamentals of research design and validity, and describes how to select and employ appropriate statistical techniques and reporting methods. Readers gain knowledge central to various research scenarios, from sifting through reports of meta-analyses and preparing a research paper for submission to a peer-reviewed journal to discussing, evaluating, and communicating research results
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods presents current and complete information as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style. In taking an interdisciplinary approach, these two volumes target a broad audience and fill a gap in the existing reference literature for a general guide to the core concepts that inform qualitative research practices. The entries cover every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, the role of theory in qualitative research, and much more—all without overwhelming the informed reader.
SAGE Mixed Methods Research by
For more than 50 years, SAGE has been one of the leading international publishers of works on research methods in the social sciences. This new collection, with six volumes organized by themes, provides readers with a representative sample of the best articles in mixed-methods research that have appeared in SAGE journals.
SAGE Qualitative Research Methods by
This collection includes research from the past four decades and addresses key issues or controversies, such as explanations and defences of qualitative methods; ethics; research questions and foreshadowed problems; access; first days in the field; field roles and rapport; practicalities of data collection and recording; data analysis; writing and (re) presentation; the rise of auto-ethnography; life history, narrative and autobiography; CA and DA; and alternatives to the logocentric (such as visual methods).
SAGE Quantitative Research Methods by
This collection provides readers with a representative sample of the best articles in quantitative methods that have appeared in SAGE journals as chosen by W. Paul Vogt, editor of other successful major reference collections such as Selecting Research Methods (2008) and Data Collection (2010). The volumes and articles are organized by theme rather than by discipline. Although there are some discipline-specific methods, most often quantitative research methods cut across disciplinary boundaries.
Survey Methods for Medical and Health Professions Education: A Step-by-Step Approach by
Useful for anyone planning survey research in health professions education—not only starting researchers, but also more experienced researchers wanting to check their approach against state-of-the art methodology in survey research.
Completing Your Evaluation Dissertation, Thesis, or Culminating Project by
This practical, user-friendly resource helps students successfully complete an evaluation capstone: a dissertation, thesis, or culminating project where a student conducts an evaluation as their capstone experience. Authors Tamara M. Walser and Michael S. Trevisan present a framework to support students and faculty in maximizing student development of evaluator competencies, addressing standards of the evaluation profession, and contributing to programs and disciplinary knowledge.
A Guide to the Scientific Career: Virtues, Communication, Research, and Academic Writing by
A concise, easy-to-read source of essential tips and skills for writing research papers and career management
How NOT to Write a Medical Paper: A Practical Guide by
Writing a medical paper, or any other scientific text, is full of pitfalls which make it difficult to get it accepted for publication. This unique book gives practical advice on how one can circumvent these dangers. It is richly filled with examples, predominantly negative ones. which exhibit how one should not write a medical paper. This book highlights the fallibilities that manuscripts are often susceptible to, and hence will help writers avoid committing those mistakes.
How to Write Well: A Guide for Health and Social Care Students by
This user-friendly guide includes examples of good and bad writing, activities to work through, handy hints and tips at the end of each chapter and personal experiences from students, making it a must-read for any health and social care students looking for the skills and confidence to master good academic writing.
Scientific Writing and Publishing in Medicine and Health Sciences: A Quick Guide in English and German by
This book outlines how to get started and provides guidance on each section of a scientific paper
Writing and Presenting Research by
Arranged in easily followed sections enlivened with checklists, style variations, examples and reflection points, Writing and Presenting Research has relevance to the social sciences, arts, humanities, natural and applied sciences and law and is an invaluable reference tool for new and experienced researchers alike
Writing and Publishing a Scientific Research Paper by
This book covers all essential aspects of writing scientific research articles, presenting eighteen carefully selected titles that offer essential, "must-know" content on how to write high-quality articles
Writing Skills in Practice: A Practical Guide for Health Professionals by
This book presents an overview of the development of writing skills for both students and practitioners in health care, offering information on all the main areas of writing practice in one volume. Clearly laid out with summary points, practical activities and checklists, it makes relevant information accessible for the busy health professional.
Writing up Qualitative Research, 3rd ed. by
Offers time-tested suggestions on every aspect of the process from beginning to end. Author Harry Wolcott continues to focus on the “writing side” of qualitative research, while incorporating new features such as guidelines on how and where to use theory.
Writing Your Doctoral Dissertation or Thesis Faster by
This book gives the doctoral candidate a comprehensive, yet easy-to-follow, map through the dissertation process. The authors’ goals are to help students finish their degree faster. Pragmatic in its intents and writing, the treatment of the topic is practical, building on years of expertise as to what causes the dissertation process to stall or fail.
This tool is designed to guide you through your research project, one step at a time. First, think about what stage in your research you're in and then dive into the different "chapters" in the side menu. If not, get started by clicking the "Begin Your Research: Why We Do Research" button.
Visit Project Planner - SAGE Research Methods (sagepub.com) to get started.
Each section of the SAGE Project Planner includes several individual modules, some of which provide video. Here are the planning stages included in this content:
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any
scholarly publisher.
A great way to kick-start your research journey is to look at the list of Foundation Entries. These give introductory overviews to major research methods, covering their history, development and critical debates surrounding them. Choose the Foundation Entry most relevant to the method you want to learn about and you will be directed to what read next.
SAGE Digital Visualization
With the SAGE Research Methods Data Visualizations database, users can discover different types of charts, practice creating digital visualizations with real data, watch experts create and explain their visualizations, and read tips and tricks from experts.
