Berne and Levy Physiology, 8th ed. by
Includes 10 videos
BRS Physiology, 8th ed. by
An integrative approach is used, when possible, to demonstrate how the organ systems work together to maintain homeostasis. More than 130 full-color illustrations and flow diagrams and more than 50 tables help the student visualize the material quickly and aid in long-term retention.
Costanzo Physiology, 7th ed. by
The last section in the book includes Common abbreviations and symbols; Normal values and constants; and Challenge Yourself Answers
Netter's Essential Physiology, 2nd ed. by
Includes 8 videos
Our Intelligent Bodies by
Readers will learn how our eyes are designed to detect unimaginably small bursts of light and how our ears contain bundles of tiny hairs, each one attuned to different sound frequencies. The reader will also discover how our hearts are smart enough to compensate for skipped beats and irregular rhythms and how our pulmonary systems adjust for low oxygen levels--even why the gut is sometimes called the "second brain," its reflexes controlled by millions of neurons
Lung Function in Health and Disease: Basic Concepts of Respiratory Physiology and Pathophysiology by
This reference presents basic concepts of respiratory function in normal and diseased states. The volume stresses a quantitative approach to physical parameters used as indicators of normal and diseased respiratory functions. The contents of this reference encourages medical students, residents and fellows to become "clinical detectives", by presenting information aimed at enhancing their understanding of how normal respiratory mechanisms are altered by diseases that affect pulmonary ventilation and/or blood perfusion, tissue oxygenation, acid-base balance, respiratory mechanics, oxygen and carbon dioxide transport, control of breathing, and so on.
Pulmonary Physiology, 9th ed. by
New figures and tables have been added and others revised to help students visualize concepts more clearly and learn the material more effectively. New references and clinical correlations have been added to the end of each chapter. It has been more than 35 years since Pulmonary Physiology was first published. The book is now older than most of its readers!
Respiratory Physiology, 2nd ed. by
The last section in the book includes Answers to Self-Study Problems; Multiple-Choice Examination
.Abbreviations; and Gas Laws
West's Respiratory Physiology, 11th ed. by
This newest edition includes many more multiple choice questions than the previous edition, all written to better test reasoning rather than factual recall. An extensive appendix provides detailed answers to the questions. Learning objectives have been added to every chapter and a number of topics in the text have been expanded to improve the meaning. The fourteen 50-minute YouTube lectures closely based on the material in the book have been retained, and these have proved to be popular with students. The URL is http://meded.ucsd.edu/ifp/jwest/resp_phys/index.html.
Renal Physiology, 6th ed. by
The section at the end of the book includes Integrative Case Studies, Normal Laboratory Values, Nephron Function, Answers to Self-Study Problems, Answers to Integrative Case Studies, a Review Examination, and the answers
Vander's Renal Physiology, 10th ed. by
The authors' goal is to focus on the big picture, that is, what the kidneys do for the body and how they do it, presenting the fundamental aspects of renal function without overwhelming the reader with detail. Accordingly, they surveyed recent research results and reviews in order to present the most up-to-date and accurate description of renal processes and function, all the while being cognizant of the needs of the student who is just beginning a study of the kidneys.
Cardiovascular Physiology, 9th ed. by
The 10th ed. focuses on ensuring that mechanisms are the most up to date. Additionally, questions have been updated and clarified to help learners gauge their understanding.
Cardiovascular Physiology Concepts, 3rd ed. by
Text is supplemented with problems and clinical cases used to reinforce fundamental physiological concepts; important concepts are summarized at the end of each chapter; and review questions with explanations are provided as a self-assessment tool for the reader
Endocrine and Reproductive Physiology, 5th ed. by
The section in the back of the book includes Answers to Self-Study Problems, a Comprehensive Multiple-Choice Examination, and Abbreviations and Symbols
Endocrine Physiology, 5th ed. by
This fifth edition of Endocrine Physiology provides comprehensive coverage of the fundamental concepts of hormone biological action. The content has been revised and edited to enhance clarity and understanding, and illustrations have been added and annotated to highlight the principal concepts in each chapter. In addition, the answers to the test questions at the end of the chapter have been expanded to include explanations for the correct answers. Figures have been added and others have been revised to enhance the understanding of important endocrine physiology concepts.
Gastrointestinal Physiology, 2nd ed. by
The author has inserted new information on emerging topics, such as the communication between the intestine and central nervous system that controls food intake, the myriad roles newly ascribed to the intestinal microbiota, contemporary approaches to therapy for a number of GI maladies, and the role of the gut in obesity; a substantial number of the original illustrations clarify key concepts, and illustrations that summarize new topics have also been added.
Gastrointestinal Physiology, 9th ed. by
The section at the end of the book includes answers to Self-Study Problems and a Comprehensive Multiple-Choice Review Examination
Cellular Physiology and Neurophysiology, 3rd ed. by
The section at the end of the book includes abbreviations, symbols, and numerical constants; a mathematical refresher; root-mean-squared displacement of diffusing molecules; a summary of elementary circuit theory; answers to study problems; and a comprehensive review examination
Physiology at a Glance, 3rd ed. by
Fully supported by a companion website at www.ataglanceseries.com/physiology featuring online access to more than 200 self-assessment questions from the book, downloadable flashcards, and revision notes; with its straightforward approach to explaining the functions of the body, Physiology at a Glance provides medical, dental, health science and biomedical students with a thorough understanding of an often complex subject