Case Files Anatomy, 3rd ed.
by
New cases include hydrocephalus, knee injury, peritoneal irritation, rotator cuff injury, and thoracic outlet syndrome. We reviewed the clinical scenarios with the intent of improving them; however, their "real-life" presentations patterned after actual clinical experience were accurate and instructive. The multiple-choice questions have been carefully reviewed and rewritten to ensure that they comply with the National Board and United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) format.
Case Files Biochemistry, 3rd ed.
by
New cases include adenosine deaminase deficiency, maple syrup urine disease, alcoholic ketoacidosis, glucose-6-phosphate dehydrogenase deficiency, medium chain fatty acyl dehydrogenase deficiency, pheochromocytoma, and pediatric methomoglobinemia. We reviewed the clinical scenarios with the intent of improving them; however, their "real-life" presentations patterned after actual clinical experience were accurate and instructive. The multiple-choice questions have been carefully reviewed and rewritten to ensure that they comply with the National Board and USMLE format.
Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry, 9th ed.
by
Includes 4 integrative cases and 10 focused cases
Cases in Cardiac Resynchronization Therapy
by
Differs from these traditional books by focusing on a case-based approach to teach the core principles of patient selection, therapy delivery, patient follow-up, and outcome assessment. Each case illustrates one or more important and enduring concepts that competent cardiac device specialists should be expected to master
JACC's Imaging Cases in Cardiovascular Intervention
by
What follows is a sample of the most enduring images of that era as edited by Dr. Spencer B. King and Dr. Michael McDaniel, associate editor of the journal. This issue represents a profound tribute to a pioneering leader in cardiovascular medicine
Structural Heart Cases
by
Descriptions and illustrations of these clinical pearls and pitfalls serve to enhance the expertise for all persons who evaluate and treat patients with structural heart disease
Adrenal Disorders
by
Imparts valuable insights and clinical nuances the reader will not find in large case series or clinical trials. Many adrenal gland disorders are rare and not amenable to the rigors of advanced scientific trials. In addition, many of the authors' best teaching moments have been based on the care of a single patient with a challenging clinical scenario. They have relied on decades of personal experience in managing rare and complex adrenal disorders, and with these 100 case scenarios they share the lessons learned.
Case Files Medical Ethics and Professionalism
by
Medical ethics is the practice of systematic analysis of the morals of decision-making in the realm of health care. Professionalism is the practice of putting the interest of the patient above his or her self-interest, and involves accountability, altruism, and pursuit of excellence, as well as a higher calling of duty, integrity, and respect for others. Medical jurisprudence illustrates how medical ethics and legal medicine are intertwined in fields such as medical malpractice, forensic medicine, competency and psychiatric commitment, and withdrawing lifesaving measures.
Complicated Cases in GI
by
Follows patient-physician interactions and includes more than 50 cases that are complex in their nature, interesting in their presentations, or a representation of a unique therapeutic challenge.
Critical Concept Mastery Series: Acid-Base Disturbance Cases
by
Provides a structure for the evaluation of acute and chronic, primary and secondary acid-base disturbances, as well as approaches to identify the underlying etiologies; conceived to provide cases with a level of complexity that would appeal not only to medical students but also to residents and fellows; intermittently include questions regarding the most appropriate treatment of patients after identifying the aforementioned acid-base disturbances
Emery's Elements of Medical Genetics and Genomics, 16th ed.
by
Many chapters have been enriched by case studies that seek to take the reader to problem-solving clinical scenarios, which, after all, are real life; the authors hope this text will prove useful to undergraduates and postgraduates alike and help them swim rather than sink when faced with the depth and extent of developments in medical genetics and genomics
Kumar and Clark's Cases in Clinical Medicine, 5th ed.
by
Cases have been written to reflect the way that real patients present to their local doctors or to the emergency and outpatient departments in hospitals. The authors have provided the questions and given you the answers stage by stage, so that a large differential diagnosis is gradually whittled down to one or two of the most likely diagnoses. The authors take readers through the process of logical thought using the medical knowledge they already have acquired
Emergency Radiology Cases
by
This title is one volume in Oxford University Press's Cases in Radiology Series
Case Files Microbiology, 3rd ed.
by
New cases include rickettsial diseases, brucellosis, West Nile Virus, and Giardia. We reviewed the clinical scenarios with the intent of improving them; however, their "real-life" presentations patterned after actual clinical experience were accurate and instructive. The multiple-choice questions have been carefully reviewed and rewritten to ensure that they comply with the National Board and USMLE format.
Ryan & Sherris Medical Microbiology, 8th ed.
by
Interactive cases include pathogenic fungi, bacteria, pathogens, and parasites
Cases in Pediatric Acute Care
by
Presents more than 100 real-world pediatric acute care cases, each including a brief patient history, a detailed history of present illness, presenting signs and symptoms, vital signs, and physical examination findings. Ideal for developing a systematic approach to diagnosis, evaluation, and treatment, this resource provides students and advanced practitioners with the tools required to deliver comprehensive care to acute, chronic and critically ill children
Fluid, Electrolyte and Acid-Base Physiology
by
Includes 32 clinical case files
Physiology Cases and Problems, 4th ed.
by
Includes appendices on calculating compensatory responses to simple acid-base disorders and key equations in physiology, along with chapters on common abbreviations and normal values and constants
Pathophysiology of Disease: An Introduction to Clinical Medicine, 8th ed.
by
Valuable to students early in their medical school years by highlighting the clinical relevance of basic science courses and in preparation for USMLE Step 1 exams
DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases
by
DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases is intended to accompany DSM-5-TR. Each of this book’s 104 cases begins with a clinical vignette followed by a case discussion. The cases are organized to fit into one of the 19 core DSM-5-TR chapters. In other words, a case that features borderline personality disorder will be found in the chapter on personality disorders
Critical Concept Mastery Series: Chest Imaging Cases
by
This case series on thoracic diseases was developed to provide a framework for evaluating patients presenting with clinical syndromes and associated abnormalities on chest imaging. Such evaluation requires careful integration of the patient’s clinical presentation (ie, symptoms, physical examination findings), pertinent radiographic findings, laboratory values, medical history, environmental and occupational history, medication exposure, and histopathologic findings to identify the underlying etiology. Rarely is a diagnosis established based on imaging findings in the absence of these clinical aspects
Pleural Diseases:Clinical Cases and Real-World Discussions
by
Organized as a collection of clinical cases of patients with pleural disease or injury who were managed in respiratory care units. The description of each case includes the onset of symptoms, the entire diagnostic-therapeutic path, and discussions on the clinical choices made
Clinical Cases in Tropical Medicine
by
Written for doctors and senior medical students who already have some background knowledge in tropical medicine which they wish to put into practice. It helps the reader prepare for an occupational stay in a tropical country and is equally useful for preparing for examinations, like the Diploma in Tropical Medicine and Hygiene (DTM&H) or a specialist examination
Memory Loss, Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia, 3rd ed.
by
Includes 48 video lectures
Workbook and Casebook for Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics
by
Each chapter include Learning Objectives; Drugs Included in the Chapter; Mechanisms of Action (and, where appropriate, Mechanisms of Resistance) Table; Clinical Cases; Key Concepts; Summary Quiz; Summary Table of Drugs that includes Drug Class, Drug Name, Clinical Uses, and Common and Unique Clinically Important Toxicities
Case Files Neuroscience 2/e
by
In this second edition of Case Files®: Neuroscience, the basic format of the book has been retained. Improvements were made in updating many of the chapters including a new case correlation section, in which related cases are referenced to allow the student to review other neurobiological concepts or disease concepts. A new case of subarachnoid hemorrhage has been added. Expanded neuroscience pearls with clinical points highlighting common material covered in the USMLE step 1 have been included. The multiple-choice questions have been carefully reviewed and rewritten to ensure that they comply with the National Board and USMLE format.
Case Files Pathology, Second Edition
by
s. The gulf between the basic sciences and the patient arena is wide. Perhaps one way to bridge this gulf is with carefully constructed clinical cases that ask basic science-oriented questions. In an attempt to achieve this goal, we have designed a collection of patient cases to teach pathology-related points. More important, the explanations for these cases emphasize the underlying mechanisms and relate the clinical setting to the basic science data. We explore the principles rather than emphasize rote memorization.
Case Files Pharmacology, Third Edition
by
The gulf between the basic sciences and the patient arena is wide. Perhaps one way to bridge this gulf is with carefully constructed clinical cases that ask basic science-oriented questions. In an attempt to achieve this goal, we have designed a collection of patient cases to teach pharmacology-related points. More importantly, the explanations for these cases emphasize the underlying mechanisms and relate the clinical setting to the basic science data. The principles are explored rather than overemphasizing rote memorization.
Case Files Physiology, Second Edition
by
The gulf between the basic sciences and the patient arena is wide. Perhaps one way to bridge this gulf is with carefully constructed clinical cases that ask basic science-oriented questions. In an attempt to achieve this goal, we have designed a collection of patient cases to teach physiology-related points. More important, the explanations for these cases emphasize the underlying mechanisms and relate the clinical setting to the basic science data. We explore the principles rather than emphasize rote memorization.
Case Files Collection Podcasts
These podcasts feature a series of conversational, informative podcasts correlated with the cases featured on Case Files Collection. Narrated by Dr. Eugene Toy, the Case Files series editor, each discussion is intended to complement and illuminate information found in the corresponding case.
Case Files: Gynecologic Surgery
by
Explanations for the cases emphasize the underlying principles, rather than merely rote questions and answers
