Consumer Health Information: Brochures, Hotlines, & Prescription Discounts

The AIDSinfo fact sheets provide easy-to-understand information on a variety of HIV-related topics. Click on a topic to view a list of topic-related fact sheets.

These lists represent specific, evidence-based recommendations physicians and patients should discuss to help make wise decisions about the most appropriate care based on their individual situation. Each list provides information on when tests and procedures may be appropriate, as well as the methodology used in its creation.

CAPHIS, the Consumer and Patient Health Information Section, is a section of the Medical Library Association, an association of health information professionals with more than 5,000 individual and institution members. This resource list provides links to reputable agencies and organizations that provide and will mail free quality consumer health materials to your library. The list links directly to the order pages for each source. Some of the organizations place a volume limit per order, such as ten brochures. In addition to the resources listed, there are many other organizations that post their consumer health materials online for unlimited access in Adobe PDF or other formats.

The Healthy Eating Plate, created by nutrition experts at Harvard School of Public Health and editors at Harvard Health Publications, was designed to address deficiencies in the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)’s MyPlate. The Healthy Eating Plate provides detailed guidance, in a simple format, to help people make the best eating choices.

When Michelle’s mother Vivian was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s, Michelle turned to MedlinePlus for accurate, free, and up-to-date health information. Part 1 of 4.

Download graphically designed free nutrition posters and free nutrition quotes. Healthy eating is made a little bit easier utilizing these free downloadable nutrition posters and motivational quotes that can be displayed on bulletin boards or other areas of your worksite to remind employees to eat healthy at work.

"The Basics" are short (1 to 3 page) articles written in plain language. They answer the 4 or 5 most important questions a person might have about a medical problem. These articles are best for people who want a general overview.
The Basics articles are also available in Spanish.

Welcome to the Health Education Resource Exchange (H.E.R.E.)
An online clearinghouse of public health education and health promotion materials, events, resources, and news in the State of Washington. H.E.R.E. is designed for people who perform population-based health promotion activities in a variety of settings, primarily state and local health departments, tribes, community organizations, clinics, hospitals, and schools.The Health Education Resource Exchange was partially funded from 1995 to 1998 by the National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

This Web site is operated by the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), a national medical organization representing more than 110,600 family physicians, family practice residents and medical students. All of the information on this site has been written and reviewed by physicians and patient education professionals at the AAFP.
Health content is written at a 6th to 8th grade reading level to make information understandable and accessible to all users. Content written specifically to children and teens is also available on the site.

Pillbox enables rapid identification of unknown solid-dosage medications (tablets/capsules) based on physical characteristics and high-resolution images.

Once a medication is identified, Pillbox provides links to drug information and drug labels.

DrugDigest is a noncommercial, evidence-based, consumer health and drug information site dedicated to empowering consumers to make informed choices about drugs and treatment options.

Primary organizations and databases developed for consumers and health professionals.
Web-based drug information that can be used to answer questions about United States and International drugs, prescription and over-the-counter as well as dietary supplements and herbals.
Statistics, regulations, directories, and bibliographic databases.
Some of the resources listed also include printed books and databases that may require a subscription but would be useful for a researcher.
Coverage of specialized aspects of drug information such as adverse effects, toxicology, and pill identification.
Resources for specific audiences such as consumers, nurses, dental personnel, and veterinarians are included.
Resources for specific uses such as cancer, analgesia, and complementary medicine. See the Table of Contents for additional coverage of the guide.

This card will provide you with Rx medication savings of up to 75% at more than 68,000 pharmacies across the country including CVS/pharmacy, Fred's, Kmart, Harris Teeter, Ingles, Schnucks, Target, Walmart, BI-LO Pharmacy, Walgreens, and many more. You can create as many cards as you need. We encourage you to give cards to friends and family members. This card is pre-activated and can be used immediately!

The Healthcare Bluebook is a guide to help you determine
Fair Prices in your area for healthcare services.