Arrhythmia Essentials, 2nd ed. by
Easily portable and of great value for the busy clinician called upon to treat these patients, as well as students and nurses interested in learning more about this rapidly expanding area in medicine. It should also prove of great value to seasoned clinicians eager to gain an authoritative review of the management and treatment of patients with cardiac rhythm disorders.
Cardiology Secrets: Questions You Will Be Asked, Top Secrets in Cardiology, 6th ed. by
Written in a concise, digestible, and entertaining manner.
COVID-19 and the Heart: A Case-Based Pocket Guide by
Essentially a user’s manual to guide the medical practitioner in making adequate clinical judgment quickly with respect to the cardiac manifestations of COVID-19 disease. The book is divided into chapters based on genuine clinical cases with a proposed approach for each case.
Guide to Patient Management in the Cardiac Step Down/Telemetry Unit: A Case-Based Approach by
Essentially a user's manual to assist the medical provider in making good clinical judgment quickly. The book is broken down into chapters based on common, genuine clinical cases with a proposed approach for each case. To help orient the reader and to prevent the medical provider from excessive details, authors added key points at the end of each case highlighting the major points throughout the clinical content with the goal of allowing an easy and quick review.
Handbook of Structural Heart Interventions by
Authors describe how structural procedures may be visualized as component “building blocks,” which can be utilized to develop new procedures and therapies
The Interventional Cardiac Catheterization Handbook, 5th ed. by
Beyond providing the foundational information of percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI), this edition is noted for addressing the most recent, advanced techniques used to implant coronary and peripheral stents, repair injured vessels, and treat structural heart defects. It highlights the management of the critically ill patients in the cath lab before and during their interventions.
Manual of Cardiac Intensive Care by
A portable, easy-to-read, pocket-sized compendium of cardiac intensive care medicine that can be quickly referenced while in the midst of caring for these very ill patients
Manual of Chronic Total Occlusion Interventions, 2nd ed. by
A table at the end of the manual includes commonly used acronyms in CTO interventions
Manual of Percutaneous Coronary Interventions by
Contains links to 100 PCI cases
Structural Heart Cases: A Color Atlas of Pearls and Pitfalls by
Authors describe essential and innovative transcatheter techniques for treating these patients with a case-based, pithy format, which emphasizes key learnings. Some techniques are unique. Others, such as the creation of exteriorized rails and advanced imaging, share common features and can serve as the foundation for many transcatheter approaches. Potential hazards and learnings for their future avoidance are essential for all practitioners and also are an important focus of this atlas. The descriptions and illustrations of these clinical pearls and pitfalls serve to enhance the expertise for all persons who evaluate and treat patients with structural heart disease.
Clinical Laboratory Methods: Atlas of Commonly Performed Tests by
Provides an overview of laboratory testing, followed by descriptions and easy-to-understand graphics for more than 60 commonly used methods
Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, 9th ed. by
Has been used by thousands of primary care physicians, dermatology residents, dermatologists, internists, and other health care providers principally because it facilitates dermatologic diagnosis by providing color photographs of skin lesions and, juxtaposed, a succinct summary outline of skin disorders as well as the skin signs of systemic diseases. It can be used as a clinical companion, as a way to look up specific information or as a way to test oneself in the important features of the clinical examination.
Guidebook to Dermatologic Diagnosis by
At its core, the guidebook addresses how to diagnose in dermatology. Cognitive psychologists have shown that diagnostic reasoning takes place through activation of "scripts." Scripts describe the memory structure of clinical medical knowledge. They are networks of relevant knowledge and experience that direct selection and interpretation of new information.
Blood Gases and Critical Care Testing: Physiology, Clinical Interpretations, and Laboratory Applications, 3rd ed. by
In addition to updated chapters on clinical interpretations of blood gases and electrolytes (Ca, Mg, Na, K, and PO4), it includes entirely new chapters on blood gas testing on venous, capillary and umbilical cord blood, the evolving role of blood lactate testing in critical care, proper sample collection and handling to avoid preanalytical variation, and chapters on point-of-care testing and quality control for these tests.
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2025 by
House officers, medical students, and all other health professions learners will find the descriptions of diagnostic and therapeutic modalities, with citations to the current literature, of everyday usefulness in patient care. Internists, family physicians, hospitalists, nurse practitioners, physician associates, and all primary care providers of adult medicine will appreciate CMDT as a ready reference and refresher text.
Essential Elements of Wound Diagnosis by
Wounds covered in this book reflect the myriad of cases the authors have seen in the combined 30-plus years they have practiced wound care.
Guide to Diagnostic Tests, 7th ed. by
Intended to serve as a reference manual for medical, nursing, and other health professional students, house officers, and practicing physicians, physician assistants, and nurses. It is a quick reference guide to the selection and interpretation of commonly used diagnostic tests, including laboratory procedures in the clinical setting, common laboratory tests (chemistry, hematology, coagulation, immunology, microbiology, drug monitoring, pharmacogenetic, and molecular and genetic testing), diagnostic imaging tests (plain radiography, CT, MRI, and ultrasonography), electrocardiography, echocardiography, and the use of tests in differential diagnosis, helpful diagnostic algorithms, and nomograms and reference material.
Laposata's Laboratory Medicine Diagnosis of Disease in Clinical Laboratory, 3rd ed. by
Includes Clinical Laboratory Reference Values table at the end of the book
Physical Diagnosis Secrets: Questions You Will Be Asked, Top Secrets in Physical Diagnoses, 3rd ed. by
Includes 50 videos
Pocketbook of Differential Diagnosis, 5th ed. by
Medicine has moved at a considerable pace from traditional lectures, self-directed problem-based learning, to small group work and seminars, and having a book which offers a quick didactic approach offers merits. This is the book to use in the wards, in clinics and even in primary care settings. The authors would like to broaden the scope of this book, which has relevance to advanced nurse practitioners, paramedics, physician associates and beyond.
Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination, 10th ed. by
The basic structure of the book—with its consistent chapter organization and the inclusion of special considerations sections for infants, children, adolescents, pregnant persons, and older adults—facilitates learning.
• Differential Diagnosis tables—a hallmark of this text—appear throughout the text.
• Evidence-Based Practice in Physical Examination boxes are reminders that our clinical assessment—as much as possible—should be supported by research.
• Risk Factors boxes highlight modifiable and nonmodifiable risk factors for a variety of conditions.
• Functional Assessment boxes help students to consider specific physical problems and to evaluate their effect on patient function.
• Patient Safety boxes offer guidance about ways to promote patient safety during the physical examination or about patient education that supports safe practices at home.
Symptom to Diagnosis an Evidence Based Guide, 4th ed. by
Aims to help students and residents learn internal medicine and focuses on the challenging task of diagnosis. Using the framework and terminology presented in Chapter 1, each chapter addresses one common complaint, such as chest pain. The chapter begins with a case and an explanation of a way to frame, or organize, the differential diagnosis. Diagnostic algorithms are presented that give the learner a way of working through the diagnostic process. As the case progresses, clinical reasoning is clearly articulated. The differential diagnosis for that particular case is summarized in tables that delineate the clinical clues and important tests for the leading diagnostic hypothesis and important alternative diagnostic hypotheses. As the chapter progresses, the pertinent diseases are reviewed. Just as in real life, the case unfolds in a stepwise fashion as tests are performed and diagnoses are confirmed or refuted. Readers are continually engaged by a series of questions that direct the evaluation.
Text and Atlas of Wound Diagnosis and Treatment, 3rd ed. by
In the following pages, the reader will find beautiful photographic illustrations of the causes and effects of a variety of wound diagnoses. The reader will learn about risk factors, clinical signs and timely treatment for the wound and for any underlying conditions that may be impeding wound healing.
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination Flashcards by
DeGowin’s Diagnostic Examination Flashcards will help learners approach clinical problems through a focus on diagnostic clues. We have structured the clinical cases and questions to highlight progressive problem solving to maximize the learning opportunities. Each card has a Clinical Pearl highlighting a diagnostic dilemma or providing an important additional nugget of information that will be valuable in day-to-day clinical practice.
LANGE Biochemistry and Genetics Flashcards, 3rd ed. by
Each card provides a structured presentation of a specific disease and allows students to easily compare and contrast diseases. The introductory cards in each chapter describe the basic principles of biochemistry and genetics that are board-relevant and high yield. Each disease-specific card contains a clinical vignette on one side and important characteristics on the reverse side
LANGE Histology Image Review (Companion to Junqueira's Histology) by
A companion to Junqueira’s Histology, these cases test your knowledge of tissue slides. Test your skill at simple identification, “Which is Which” of look-alikes, and more challenging “Which of These Is Not Like The Others.”
LANGE Microbiology & Infectious Diseases Flashcards, Third Edition by
Each disease-specific card contains a clinical vignette on one side and important characteristics of the causative organism and disease on the reverse side. Information is brief and organized into sections entitled disease or clinical syndrome, etiology and epidemiology, clinical manifestations, pathogenesis, laboratory diagnosis, and treatment and prevention. High-yield information is highlighted in bold type for ease of review.
LANGE Pathology Flash Cards, 4th ed. by
Each card provides a structured presentation of a specific disease and allows students to easily compare and contrast diseases. The introductory cards for each system describe the basic physiologic and/or pathophysiologic principles of the relevant structures and organs. Each disease-specific card contains both a clinical vignette and the characteristics of the disorder.
LANGE Pharmacology Flash Cards, 5th ed. by
To ensure that these cards are high yield, authors commissioned two current Yale Medical School student editors to help write this revised edition
LANGE Physiology Flashcards for USMLE Step 1 and Course Review by
Includes the cardiovascular system, renal physiology and acid-base balance, reproductive physiology, pulmonary physiology, the endocrine system, and the gastrointestinal system.
Vanderbilt Rapid Recall Flashcards by
Offer a chance to test your knowledge of common internal medicine and pediatrics topics; these questions can be used independently or alongside the case-based curriculum. New questions are always being added, so be sure to check back regularly.
Pocket Guide to POCUS: Point-Of-Care Tips for Point-of-Care Ultrasound by
The goal of this book is to present the most salient techniques and concepts in point of-care ultrasound to clinicians and students at all levels of training. For the new learner, this includes basic direction in indications and acquisition. For the more advanced practitioner, points to improve image quality and identification of common pitfalls are combined with basic interpretation and examples of pathology. Conceptual and interpretation questions are provided in the last chapter to help reinforce knowledge and provide self-assessment.
The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3rd ed. by
Written for family physicians and all healthcare providers involved in primary care. It can also be invaluable to medical students, residents, internists, pediatricians, and dermatologists. It is available electronically for iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch, all Android devices, Kindle, and on the web through Access Medicine. These electronic versions have allowed healthcare providers to access the images and content rapidly at the point-of-care.
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination, 11th ed. by
Has been used by students and clinicians for more than 50 years precisely because of its usefulness in honing the diagnostic process:
(1) It describes the techniques for obtaining a complete history and performing a thorough physical exam.
(2) It links symptoms and signs with the pathophysiology of disease.
(3) It presents an approach to differential diagnosis, based upon the pathophysiology of disease, which can be efficiently tested in the laboratory.
(4) It does all of this in a format that can be used as a quick point-of-care reference and as a text to study the principles and practice of history taking and physical examination.
Gomella and Haist's Clinician's Pocket Reference, 12th ed. by
Not meant as a substitute for specialty-specific reference manuals; the core information presented is the essential foundation for the new medical student or healthcare provider beginning to learn hands-on patient care. While some key pediatric content is presented, the focus of the book is on general concepts in adult medicine.
Harrisons Manual of Medicine, 20th ed. by
As a concise, fact-rich resource for point-of-care, the Manual presents clinical information drawn from the 20th edition of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, covering the key features of the diagnosis, clinical manifestations, and treatment of the major diseases that are likely to be encountered on a medical inpatient service and in the clinic.
Huppert's Notes: Pathophysiology and Clinical Pearls for Internal Medicine by
Primarily intended for medical trainees, from medical students to internal medicine interns and residents. Practicing physicians can also benefit from this reference – the author still uses these Notes in his own practice today.
The MD Anderson Manual of Medical Oncology, 4th ed. by
Every chapter includes abundant tables and diagrams, including algorithms and decision trees developed at MD Anderson for specific cancers or disease subtypes; promising novel therapy targets and the latest clinical trial phase of drugs targeting them; and new molecular therapies recommended to overcome resistance to previously effective therapies.
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Pediatrics, 27th ed. by
features practical, up-to-date, well-referenced information on the care of children from birth through infancy and adolescence.
Poisoning and Drug Overdose, Eighth Edition by
The manual is divided into four sections and an index, each identifiied by a black tab in the right margin. Section I leads the reader through initial emergency management, including treatment of coma, hypotension, and other common complications; physical and laboratory diagnosis; and methods of decontamination and enhanced elimination of poisons. Section II provides detailed information for common drugs and poisons. Section III describes the use and side effects of antidotes and therapeutic drugs. Section IV describes the medical management of chemical spills and occupational chemical exposures and includes a table of over 500 chemicals. The Index is comprehensive and extensively cross-referenced.
Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z by
Entries are arranged alphabetically, with some related subjects grouped together to make coverage of one subject easier. For example, entries relating to tracheal intubation may be found under I as in Intubation, awake; Intubation, blind nasal, etc.
Anesthesia Secrets, 6th ed. by
This edition introduces several new chapters emphasizing such topics as the history and scope of anesthesia practice, cardiac physiology and the electrocardiogram, volume status assessment, perioperative ethics, regional anesthesia, and perioperative ultrasound. Our primary goal is to provide an appropriate breadth and depth of pertinent anesthesia topics that can be integrated into the practice of medicine in general.
The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3rd ed. by
The collection of clinical images is supported by evidence-based information that will help the healthcare provider diagnose and manage common medical problems.
Critical Care Secrets, 6th ed. by
Includes new chapters on timely topics such as neurologic monitoring, obesity in the intensive care unit (ICU), new ultrasound practices, ICU survivorship, and the latest cardiac technology such as ventricular assist and percutaneous support devices.
The ECMO Book by
About how the care of patients with severe cardiac and respiratory failure can be managed with extracorporeal support. Readers will have the tools and principles that can be applied real time to improve the provision of care at the bedside.
ICU Quick Drug Guide by
Remarkable in its scope and detail, this handbook is clearly organized and arranged to cover nearly all possible scenarios of the critically ill patients who may cross the doors of the ICU. The book is divided into six sections covering 24 different specific critical scenarios. Each chapter is divided into a brief discussion of drugs used for the specific treatment of the condition and clinical scenario. It is presented in an outline format accompanied by numerous clear descriptive tables of drug dosing, alternative agents, their antidotes (if available), potential complications, and drug interactions that may be encountered.
Improvised Medicine: Providing Care in Extreme Environments, 2nd ed. by
Divided into several sections, beginning with introductory chapters that describe resource-poor situations that may require medical improvisation. Subsequent sections discuss Basic Needs, Patient Assessment/Stabilization, Surgical Interventions, and Nonsurgical Interventions. The Appendices provide useful information about preparing a hospital disaster plan and assembling medical kits for different activities.
Oh's Intensive Care Manual, 8th ed. by
Of use to medical, nursing and allied health staff and students but, most important, it will adhere to the pragmatic and clinically useful style so effectively promulgated by Teik Oh. If a clinician can reach for it in the early hours of the morning and can easily locate the information they require and feel ether guided or reassured, it will have served its purpose. If those passing examinations can say it helped, that will be gilding the lily.
Rapid Response Events in the Critically Ill: A Case-Based Approach to Inpatient Medical Emergencies by
Each section contains a case-based approach to an inpatient emergency related to that system. Each chapter consists of a simple case presentation, including pertinent patient history, investigations, and interventions based on a provisional diagnosis. The case is followed by a comprehensive discussion about the diagnosis in that case. The discussion includes clinical features, diagnostic criteria, and a stepwise approach to managing the diagnosis in a code event.