Click the AccessMedicine logo above to visit the site.
IMPORTANT! Registration is required for all users, whether accessing the platform from ON or OFF campus. Be sure to register for AccessMedicine with your Meharry username and password and then sign in each time you visit the site.
IF YOU ARE OFF CAMPUS:
AccessMedicine (ACM) is an online medical resource that provides students with the tools they need to excel in basic and advanced studies, clerkships, and crucial test prep. ACM provides residents and physician assistants with interactive content, self-assessment, and leading medical texts to enhance decision-making at the point-of-care.
VIEW THESE INFORMATIONAL ACCESSMEDICINE VIDEOS:
Click the AccessObGyn logo above to visit the site.
IMPORTANT! Registration is required for all users, whether accessing the platform from ON or OFF campus. Be sure to register for AccessObGyn with your Meharry username and password and then sign in each time you visit the site.
NOTE: If you have created an account in AccessMedicine, you will use the same username and password for access to content in AccessObGyn.
IF YOU ARE OFF CAMPUS:
AccessObGyn (OBGYN) is an online medical resource that provides students with the tools they need to excel in basic and advanced studies, clerkships, and crucial test prep covering the breadth of obstetrics and gynecology. OBGYN provides students and residents with interactive content, self-assessment, and leading medical texts to enhance decision-making at the point-of-care. It allows for practicing obstetricians and gynecologists to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure best patient outcomes. It includes a complete full-text library of clinical textbooks, including Williams Obstetrics 25th ed., Williams Gynecology 3rd ed., and many others.
Click the Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination logo below to register or sign in and be directed to the site.
Before you visit the Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination, watch the instructional video found below.
IF YOU ARE OFF CAMPUS:
Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination® delivers videos featuring step-by-step, head-to-toe, and systems-based physical examination techniques, as well as interactive OSCE clinical reasoning modules and new communication and interpersonal skills videos.
FACULTY: Use the flyer at right to learn the following:
Click the BoardVitals logo above to visit the site.
IMPORTANT! Registration is required for all users, whether accessing the platform from ON or OFF campus. Be sure to register for BoardVitals with your Meharry username and password and then sign in each time you visit the site.
IF YOU ARE OFF CAMPUS:
BoardVitals is an online platform that provides exam preparation resources, primarily for medical and nursing professions. It offers extensive question banks for initial certification and maintenance of certification (MOC) across numerous specialties. The platform features personalized practice tests, detailed performance analytics, adaptive testing, and detailed explanations, with institutions like universities and hospitals using it as a teaching tool.
Here is a list of the available question banks in the library's BoardVitals collection:
Click the BrowZine logo above to visit the site.
IF YOU ARE OFF CAMPUS:
Click the ClinicalKey logo above to visit the site.
IF YOU ARE OFF CAMPUS:
IMPORTANT! Registration and sign in with ClinicalKey are required ONLY when accessing the platform from OFF campus.
Click the Cochrane Library logo above to visit the site.
IF YOU ARE OFF CAMPUS:
IMPORTANT! Cochrane Library requires off-campus users to register on the platform and then sign in (see instructions below).
The Cochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based medical information used by health care providers and researchers to guide clinical decisions. It is considered a highly authoritative source in evidence-based medicine and primarily consists of systematic reviews, which are critical appraisals and syntheses of all available evidence on a specific question. The library also includes other databases, such as the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) and Cochrane Clinical Answers, which are designed to be used at the point of care.
REGISTRATION INSTRUCTIONS:
1. Click the Cochrane Library button shown above
2. Locate and click the "Sign In" link at top right of the platform's homepage
3. In the box that pops up, click the "Register" button
4. Click the "Continue" button underneath the heading "Please click continue to register or reset your password with CONNECT"
5. Input your Meharry email address (NOT the one that contains numbers)
6. Create a password of your choosing
7. Go back to the Cochrane Library platform and use the "Sign In" link
Click the Complete Anatomy logo above to visit the site.
IF YOU ARE OFF CAMPUS:
IMPORTANT! Need a student activation code? Download the Complete Anatomy app onto your device by opening the interactive PDF at the bottom of this box (contains student activation code) or by clicking here.
VIDEO: View four tutorials on the Complete Anatomy Support site:
INSTRUCTIONS FOR STUDENTS:
INSTRUCTIONS FOR FACULTY:
INTRODUCING COMPLETE ANATOMY FOR THE WEB
If you have created a student or faculty account using the instructions above with your activation code, you can access Complete Anatomy for the Web.
The 2025 web launch covers the most utilized features of Complete Anatomy:
Features not yet available on the Complete Anatomy on the Web version but that will be added in 2026:
How to sign in:
Click the DeckerMedicine logo above to visit the site.
IF YOU ARE OFF CAMPUS:
Decker: Medicine, a comprehensive professional medical database, has a reputation for providing practicing clinicians and students with detailed and up-to-date medical information. Decker: Medicine was previously known as Scientific American Medicine and prior to that, from 2004 to 2013, it was known as the American College of Physicians (ACP) Medicine.
This resource covers the 11 subspecialties of internal medicine plus selected topics in Women's Health, Palliative Medicine, Psychiatry, Dermatology, Neurology, and Emergency Medicine. It is continually updated.
• Provides clear and actionable diagnosis and treatment recommendations
• Written and continually updated by a team of the nation's foremost primary-care physicians
• Decker Medicine is authoritative and is evidence-based and peer-reviewed
• The consistent organization, writing style, and search logic provides answers fast, with more than 1,500 illustrations to guide through complex explanations
Recent Additions/Updates:
• Allergic Response
• Bacterial Infections of the Adult Upper Respiratory Tract
• Diagnosis of Diabetic Foot
• Introduction to the Patient with Rheumatic Disease
• Late Stage Prostate Cancer
• Allergic Rhinitis, Conjunctivitis, and Sinusitis
• Asthma
• Evaluation and Treatment of Pediatric Obesity
• Management of Dyslipidemia
• Obesity
• Respiratory Viral Infections
Click the DeckerSurgery logo above to visit the site.
IF YOU ARE OFF CAMPUS:
This comprehensive professional surgical database was first published in 1989 under the name Care of the Surgical Patient. Decker: Surgery was previously known as Scientific American Surgery and prior to that, for eleven years (2002-2013), the resource was known as American College of Surgeons (ACS).
Decker: Surgery has a reputation for providing practicing surgeons and students with comprehensive and up-to-date surgical information. It covers all subspecialties of surgery plus Competency-Based Surgical Care, Care in Special Situations, Scientific Foundations, and Organ Systems with clear and actionable diagnostic and procedural recommendations. It is continually updated.
Recent Additions/Updates:
• Diagnosis of Diabetic Foot
• Initial Management of Life-Threatening Trauma
• Parotidectomy
• Principles of Wound Management and Soft Tissue Repair I
• Principles of Wound Management and Soft Tissue Repair II
• Sepsis
• Tumors of the Liver
• Upper Gastrointestinal Endoscopy: Advanced Endoscopic Techniques
• Upper Gastrointestinal Endoscopy: Basic Upper Endoscopy
High praise from Johns Hopkins for Decker: Surgery
"We are now basing the Johns Hopkins surgical residency curriculum on this publication, and I have purchased copies for all of the residents in my program! Not only is ACS Surgery a practical and useful reference, but it is refreshing to use something that is so current! And with the authority of the College behind it, it can't be beat."
--Julie Freischlag, MD, FACS, Chair of Department of Surgery, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Click the Ditki logo below to visit the site.
IMPO
RTANT! This resource requires users to first register for an account and then sign in every time you use the resource, whether you are ON or OFF campus.
The library's two subscribed Ditki courses--Draw It to Know It--are 1) Neuroanatomy: Neuroanatomy & Fundamental Clinical Neuroscience and 2) Gross Anatomy: Macroscopic Structure of Tissues & Organs.
VIDEO: Visit this site to watch videos on the following topics:
TUTORIAL: Watch a brief overview of how to use Ditki
FACULTY TUTORIAL: How course directors can create study plans to share with their students
FACULTY TUTORIAL: How to download flashcards for use in notes, lectures, presentations, Blackboard, or elsewhere for teaching purposes
Click the EBSCOhost logo above to visit the site and register or sign in.
IF YOU ARE OFF CAMPUS:
IMPORTANT! Off-campus users who need to access eBooks housed in the EBSCOhost database are required to register for a personal account in the EBSCO platform and then sign in to access the content. On-campus users will be able to search for an ebook on the Digital Library using the eBook tab and immediately open a title housed in the EBSCOhost collection.
HOW TO REGISTER & THEN ACCESS eBOOKS HOUSED IN EBSCOhost:
ADDITIONAL METHODS FOR ACCESSING eBOOKS FOUND ON EBSCOhost:
1. To search for an eBook that you know is found in EBSCOhost, visit this site
2. BEFORE you search for the title of the eBook you're seeking, click "MyEBSCO" at the top righthand side of the webpage (see screenshots below)
3. If you have not created an EBSCO account in this platform, click the "Create an account" link in the box that opens up
4. Conversely, if you do already have an account, input your Meharry email address and the password you chose for EBSCO
5. Now type the title of the eBook into the search box
6. Locate the linked Table of Contents on the righthand side of the webpage and navigate each chapter from there
7. You also can download the ebook for a brief period of time, HOWEVER, you must download Adobe Editions and follow the prompts to then open Adobe Editions and "check out" the ebook, which will load into your Adobe Editions account
Click the GIDEON button at right to access the Ovid eBook repository for GIDEON eBooks.
IF YOU ARE OFF CAMPUS:
Nearly 200 eBooks on Infectious Disease for Physicians, Policymakers, and Educators
TUTORIALS BELOW: Learn more about 1) the GIDEON eBook Collection and 2) how to navigate the Ovid eBook platform where this collection is found
Click the JAMAevidence logo above to visit the site.
IF YOU ARE OFF CAMPUS:
JAMAevidence is an online medical resource helping decision-makers to identify the best available evidence. It provides students, residents, fellows, and clinicians with essential content from "Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3rd ed.," "The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical Diagnosis," "JAMA Guide to Statistics and Methods," and "Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience."
JAMAevidence also contains the following:
IMPORTANT! When you click the links below, you will be prompted to sign into JAMAevidence with your personal profile--the same profile you may already have created when visiting AccessMedicine.
Haven't registered yet? Create your personal profile in seconds after clicking on one of the links below, being sure to use your Meharry email address and a password of your choosing. These same credentials also will sign you into AccessMedicine, AccessObGyn, and the Case Files Collection.
NOTE: If you visit one of these platforms and are unable to log in, it's likely because you have not visited McGraw-Hill Medical's sites for three or more months. In that case, just register again, making sure to use the Meharry credentials you used in the past.
Click the JoVE logo at left to visit the platform. NOTE: The blue boxes on the webpage that opens indicate subscribed content, and you can click on each one to navigate from one to another
IF YOU ARE OFF CAMPUS:
What is JoVE? Our library subscribes to two different types of JoVE resources: 1) clinical skills video and 2) video journals (see details below)
1. The library subscribes to the following Research Modules in JoVE Education, all of which take the user to an actual journal within the JoVE collection of journals: Biology, Immunology & Infection, and Neuroscience; these journals include video content to go along with the articles found in them.
Clinical Skills Video Modules: https://app.jove.com/education/science-education/clinical-skills/physical-examinations-ii
NOTE: To visit each set of Clinical Skills videos, click the title of each one below