Encyclopedia of victimology and crime prevention
From the Publisher: In many ways, the two fields of victimology and crime prevention have developed along parallel yet separate paths, and the literature on both has been scattered across disciplines as varied as sociology, law and criminology, public health and medicine, political science and public policy, economics, psychology, and human services, and others. 
Citation: Fisher, B., & Lab, S. P. (2010). Encyclopedia of victimology and crime prevention. SAGE Publications.
The International Encyclopedia of Human Sexuality
College is where students live free of direct adult supervision and are exposed to much more freedom serving as the perfect space to socialize and experiment with alcohol, sex, and drugs. Her work highlighted some of the reasons students hook up is to feel included, gain status, experience physical pleasure, and lack of commitment, or “no strings attached.” Kathleen Bogle attributes the normalization of hooking up to students overestimating the degree to which their peers actually engage in the activity. She reports that women are more likely to participate in hookups with the notion that it may evolve into a serious commitment whereas men prefer the no-strings approach.
Sweeney, B. (2015). Hooking up. In P. Whelehan, & A. Bolin (Eds.), The international encyclopedia of human sexuality. Wiley. Credo Reference:
There are 2 purposes for this book. In the 1st place, it is designed to be an introduction to the topic of sexual assault on college campuses. Throughout this book, we will present both theories and the latest empirical findings on a broad range of issues related to sexual assault. A few of the questions we will discuss include: How often does sexual assault occur? Is alcohol abuse-related? What do we know about alcohol abuse today? Are fraternities more likely to be engaged in sexual abuse than other groups? Do education programs have an effect? At the same time, we will be discussing our own theoretical model of male peer support.
What we will examine in this book is that many men remain in groups that actively support the emotional and sexual abuse of women. The authors have become convinced that male peer support is an integral underlying factor in campus sexual assault.
Schwartz, M. D., & DeKeseredy, W. S. (1997). Sexual assault on the college campus: the role of male peer support. Sage Publications.
The Sexual Assault Quick Reference includes chapters on physical and forensic evaluation of patients across the life span, identifying and treating STIs (based on the CDC's 2015 Treatment Guidelines), mental health care for survivors, and vicariously traumatized practitioners, and the investigation and prosecution of sexual violence.
Diana Faugno, M. R. C., Patricia M. Speck, Dns. A. F.-B. D.-I. F. F., Mary J. Spencer, M., & Angelo P. Giardino, M., PhD. (2016). Sexual Assault Quick Reference 2e : For Health Care, Social Service, and Law Enforcement Professionals: Vol. Second edition. STM Learning.
Dictionary of the History of Science to shine a light on the encouraging notion of promiscuous behavior as a college student, and recent college graduates that endorsed no longer engaging in casual hookups after graduating. These students attributed the behavioral change to a change in perspective and belief of interference with new goals such as marriage, now viewing the behavior as consequential rather than fun and casual. Sexual Assault is on the rise on college campuses.
William F. Bynum, Janet Browne, & Roy Porter. (2014). Dictionary of the History of Science. Princeton University Press.
Gale Health and Wellness
Rape is defined as sexual penetration, no matter how slight, of a person who does not consent to engage in the act. Rape is a form of sexual assault and is often facilitated with the use of force, drugs, or alcohol. Sexual assault is more broadly defined as sexual contact and/or behavior that occurs without the victim's consent. Rape and sexual assault are crimes in the United States. The state criminal code punishes multiple forms of sexual assault, including rape, aggravated sexual contact, and abusive sexual contact, among others. Proven threats of sexual assault can also be prosecuted.
Dionne, Stéphanie, et al. "Rape and Sexual Assault." Dionne, S., Frey, R. J., & Caffrey, C. (2016). Rape and sexual assault. In Gale (Ed.), Gale encyclopedia of children's health: Infancy through adolescence (3rd ed.). Gale. Credo Reference:
https://search-credoreference-com.lynx.lib.usm.edu/content/entry/
galegchita/rape_and_sexual_assault/0?institutionId=3440
U.S National Library of Medicine: Medline Plus -
Sexual assault incidents among college undergraduates: Prevalence and factors associated with risk.
Mellins CA, Walsh K, Sarvet AL, Wall M, Gilbert L, Santelli JS, Thompson M, Wilson PA, Khan S, Benson S, Bah K, Kaufman KA, Reardon L, Hirsch JS.PLoS One. 2017 Nov 8;12(11):e0186471. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0186471. eCollection 2017.PMID: 29117226