Skip to main content
Preprint Article Review Advice
NOTE: While preprints are the newest scholarly articles made available, these preliminary reports either have not yet undergone the peer-review process or are under peer-review. They should not be considered conclusive, used to inform clinical practice, or referenced by the media as validated information. Find the newest COVID-19 articles -- both critically appraised and those under review from scholarly peer-reviewed journals -- in some of the resources listed on this page.
EBSCO COVID-19 Information Portal
Conduct searches in the following scholarly publications:
Journal of Virology
Journal of Clinical Virology
MedRxiv and Biorxiv Pre-print Studies
Find pre-print studies vetted by researchers at Yale and editors of BMJ journals in this Yale-built repository. Content includes studies that are not yet peer-reviewed.
National Library of Medicine COVID-19 Articles (LitCovid)
Find the latest citations for more than 4,000 peer-reviewed articles in PubMed from the National Institutes of Health's (NIH) National Library of Medicine site, devoted to updated listings of the latest coronavirus-related Pubmed content.
New England Journal of Medicine COVID-19 Articles
Review NEJM's COVID-19-related original articles, special reports, perspective pieces, correspondence, editorials, and images in clinical medicine, along with NEJM Catalyst articles and podcasts, and NEJM Resident 360 discussions for medical residents to peruse.
ResearchSquare.com: SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 Preprint Articles
Frequently updated with articles under review or accepted by such peer-reviewed journals as:
Journal of Translational Medicine
BMC Infectious Diseases
BMC Public Health
Infectious Diseases of Poverty
BMC Health Services Research
Society of Critical Care Medicine Published COVID-19 Articles
Read the latest articles published in the Critical Care Medicine, Pediatric Critical Care Medicine, and Critical Care Explorations journals.
MD+CALC Core COVID-19 Calculators
Access medical calculators for Hospital Management, ICU-Respiratory, ICU-ARDS and ECMO, ICU-Inflammation and Thrombosis, and Scarce Resource Allocation
Institutional, Agency-Generated, and AI-Driven Datasets
AI-Powered COVID-19 Watch
This AI-driven site created by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) provides minute-by-minute updates on WHO data, news reports, and interactive charts on the evolution, progression, and trajectory of the COVID-19 crisis.
Butte Lab COVID-19 County Tracker
View trends about rates and intensities among counties nationwide at this site created and maintained by the Bakar Computational Health Sciences Institute.
COVID-19 Open Research Dataset (CORD-19)
See how researchers joined the Allen Institute for AI to create this Semantic Scholar site, which provides free content that includes more than 36,000 full-text articles.
COVID-19 Primer (AI-Driven)
This AI-driven site gathers content every 24 hours; subscribe to a weekly briefing, view the papers most discussed on social media, and follow trending news from television, newspaper, and newsradio reports.
COVID-Net Open Source Initiative
AI systems based on deep learning are helping to detect COVID-19 in patients by enhancing radiological imaging, in particular chest radiography. Scroll down on this webpage to see imaging and read about the ever-evolving initiatifve.
Institute for Health Metrics Evaluation (IHME) COVID-19 Projections
View projections on how hospital resources are being used, based on the number of COVID-19 deaths.
Johns Hopkins University of Medicine Coronavirus Resource Center
Track reported cases of coronavirus in real time, including total number of cases worldwide and in the United States, total number of deaths, and total of those who have recovered.
World Health Organization (WHO) Database of Global COVID-19 Research Center
Find updates on registered clinical trials -- including the Solidarity Clinical Trial for COVID-19 Treatments -- and research activity updates, along with COVID-19 Emergency Use Listing Procedure (EUL) content.
Medical Literature Search Strategies
COVID-19 Live Literature Searches
Provided by medical librarians, these topical searches include COVID-19 infection prevention, diagnosis, management, therapeutics, complications, containment, use and reuse of PPE, surge planning for hospitals, immunity, and rehabilitation, among other clinical topics related to patient and clinician care.
Medical disciplines for which PubMed search strings have been provided include:
EBSCO 'Sensitive Search' Strategy
Find search strategies for use in EBSCO databases and in the scholarly content aggregator's COVID-19 Research Portal.
PubMed COVID-19 Search Strategy
Use this search query when conducting a general search related to COVID-19 content, courtesy of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
AccessMedicine COVID-19 Central
Find bedside clinical resources, guidelines for preventing the spread of COVID-19 in nursing homes, case definitions, and 3D views inside the virus on this site maintained by McGraw-Hill Education's AccessMedicine team.
Ambulatory Care Evidence-Based Summary (Elsevier)
This clinical overview for care outside of a hospital setting includes COVID-19 presentation, causes and risk factors, diagnostic procedures, differential diagnosis, treatment options, complications, and prognosis.
Community Care Evidence-Based Summary (Elsevier)
This clinical overview for managing patients at home via telemedicine includes COVID-19 presentation, causes and risk factors, diagnostic procedures, differential diagnosis, treatment options, complications, and prognosis.
DynaMed COVID-19 (Novel Coronavirus)
Consult the DynaMed bedside tool -- provided by Meharry Medical College Library -- for evidence-based content such as definitions, etiology and pathogenesis, diagnosis, prognosis, guidelines, calculators, and media.
Elsevier COVID-19 Toolkit Overview
Includes clinical overviews, guidelines, order sets, procedure videos, diagnoses, prescribed medications, imaging, drug monographs, patient education, and more for health care professionals treating patients in the Emergency Department and Inpatient Care and Intensive Care units.
Elsevier Toolkits for Health Professionals
Access these front-line clinical tools and resources to help you deliver excellent care and information to your patients, including community, ambulatory, emergency, inpatient, and ICU care.
Emergency Care Evidence-Based Summary (Elsevier)
This site includes a clinical overview for managing patients in an emergency department/immediate response capacity, along with the following resources:
Monographs for azithromycin, chloroquine, hydrochloroquine, Lopinavir; Ritonavir, and Remdesivir
Diagnostic Imaging Examples
MD+CALC Clinician Resources for COVID-19
Find Brigham and Womens' Quick Guides for Hospitalists, Respiratory failure, and Intensivists; University of Illinois-Chicago's Guide to Ventilation, ARDS, and Shock; Intubation/Airway Checklists; and American Society of Health System Pharmacists' Guide to Evidence and Dosage for COVID-19 Medications
NEJM: How to Obtain a Nasopharyngeal Swab Specimen
This video provided by the New England Journal of Medicine describes an overview of the procedure, which includes preparation, equipment, handling of the specimen, and removing personal protective equipment (PPE).
These free resources are provided by Oxford Academic journals and other electronic references, which include:
Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (2nd. ed.)
Concise Medical Dictionary (9th ed.)
Oxford Research Encyclopedias
Very Short Introductions
Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Scholarship Online
PowerPoint Presentation: Outpatient & Emergency Department Key Resources (Elsevier)
This online-only presentation (not downloadable) must be viewed from live-linked original site provided above; provides content related to triage protocol for adult, pediatric, and maternal-newborn patients, discontinuation of isolation, discharge from a medical facility, and patient education.
Springer Nature Covid-19
Springer Nature and the MMC Library Team is monitoring the coronavirus situation closely.
UpToDate Clinical Effectiveness COVID-19 Resources
Consult the UpToDate bedside tool -- provided by Meharry Medical College Library -- for evidence-based content by clinical topic, along with society guidelines for general care and specialty care.
Meharry Medical College. 1005 Dr. D.B. Todd Blvd. Nashville, TN. 37208